Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-22-2002, 04:58 PM   #1
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 7,224
Send a message via Yahoo to Hara
Powerheads...do Ineed them?

Hi again all, it is me, the pesky pain in the rear, asking yet another question.

I have the two fluval 404's on the tank, combined, they are moving alot of water, 680 gph. The footprint is a pretty big one that it is making. I am seeing current all the way on the bottom of the tank. Do I still need additional powerheads?

If you say I do, please recommend a type/brand, there are so many out there that I would have no idea which ones are best.

Thanks again for the help.
__________________

__________________
Hara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2002, 09:45 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Norfolk, Virginia
Posts: 109
Send a message via ICQ to CaliGal Send a message via MSN to CaliGal
Hara,

There ain't no thing here as a pain in the rear! Promise.

I really like my work horses, my Hagan powerheads. I guess they lack bells and whistles, but gain reliability because they are simply great, simple powerheads.

Sue
__________________

__________________
180g fish n' coral reef
CaliGal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2002, 12:38 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
You should strive for atleast 1 flow rate in the tank. Given your tank is 150 gal that comes out to 1500GPH flow rate. I dont know what the flow of your two canister filters but I suspect your short a few hundred GPH. It also seems that even if you have 1 flow rate there migh be areas of the tank that get insufficent current to keep nasty canyobactor (sp?) from appearing.

For example. I have an 80 gal tank that is 6' long. I have a 1400gph overflow and a 1250-1300GPH pump on the sump. That give me roughtly 15X flow rate in the tank. But I suspect that after I get done aquascaping with my new LR I will have to put at least one if not two small powerheads in the tank to provide suplmental current to some possible 'dead' spots.

Some creative aquascaping can hide powerheads fairly good.


Maxijet are good powerheads that I have found to work relivlly good under pressure. For example I have used a maxijet 1200 to pump water up into my tanks from the floor. The head height was about 5' and to my amazment it was flowing at a decent clip for a 195GPH powerhead.

Rio's are cheap and can have problems starting up if they run for a very long time. To correct this just take the powerhead out of the tank and give it a good cleaning. Soak it in vinegar/water solution and then soak it in water and then power the unit up. It should start back up. If not then you will have to take the impeller out and clean it by hand.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2002, 12:40 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
HAHAHA

ROFLMAO

the little green men in my above post was not my intent. I was trying to say "TEN TIMES FLOW RATE" and apparently the "X" in ten times comes out as the alien.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2002, 04:21 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Fresno, California
Posts: 41
FishFreak it took me a couple of seconds to figure out what they were doing there.

As far as the powerhead goes, IMO as long as there is no dead spots in the tank you should be fine. The more rock and complex aquascaping may cause you to need more to rid your self of all the dead spots. Just watch your tank if you see any spots sitting stagent then you need to redirect an output or get another powerheads.
That is just my 2 cents
__________________
80gl,,2 perc clownfish, Firefish, assorted snails and hermits,brittle star
Green hairy&Blue spotted mushrooms
Pulsing Xenia,Green star&green button polyps, 2 Acroporas,2Monapores, Cualerpa
http://www.geocities.com/selestinoca.../homepage.html
donkeykong is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
powerheads

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powerheads sieski General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 08-05-2009 03:20 PM
Ineed help immediately with aquarium WITYH 55 GAL oneilwiz Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 03-10-2009 03:18 PM
Powerheads? LindaC General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 08-13-2006 01:31 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.