pre-cured LR? or cured LR?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

leesanhua

Aquarium Advice Freak
i just set up my new 15 gallon saltwater tank. i have no experience about it. I was wondering should i buy the cured LR or pre-cured LR?
I have a hang on tank filter -- Emperor 280 and a heater. What else do i need? do i need the skimmer since i only have a small tank.

by the way, i haven't put any sand substrate to my new tank yet.
the heater and filter are running and the water is mixed with salt.

Pre cured rock is rock that may have been cured but is then shipped which means it will need to be cured again. This is not a problem and can be helpful since you can use this rock to cycle your tank. Unless you are buying cured rock locally or getting very fresh rock you will still need to cure it again as there may be some die off. If you use cured rock in the new tank you may need to add a source of ammonia(cocktail shrimp) for your cycle to get going.

If you get cured LR there may not be a cycle because there is already bacteria on the LR this is the advantage of getting cured rock. No curing process, no tank cycle no need to add shrimp to cause a cycle. You pay more for cured LR but you could be able to add fish after a week if your sure there is no amm or die off.
I got 55 lbs of cured LR for my 55 and I never had amm or no2 had fish in a week after I knew the tank was stable.
Sand can be added now or after you get your rock. Adding now might be better so the sand storm your going to get will settle out before you get the rock.