Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-09-2006, 09:30 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: San antonio TX
Posts: 70
problems restarting an emperor 400

i am having problems restarting an emperor 400 filter..
i turn it on and fill the back with water and it starts taking some water in and then i stops taking in water
i dont know what to do...

thanks for the help
__________________

__________________
ektorgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 05:55 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 1,538
There's a gray lever type thingy you need to move...it's suppose to 'prime' the filter. Give it a shot along with pouring tank water into the box.
__________________

__________________
http://www.tricitytropicals.com
------------------------------------
We, as a people, know so much more about outer space than we do about our own oceans. This lack of knowledge can very well spell the dangers that lay in wait for us.

The oceans surely would swallow us before a rock comes down to smite the planet of it's life.
Nov/2004
TCTFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2006, 05:20 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 54
I've had an emperor pump get clogged up before,

If it does not prime it self, the pump could be stuck, you can take it out and clean the film off of the impeller and use the brush it came with to clean the impeller housing.

The grey lever i believe is just a flow control all the way up is full flow.
__________________
ddm_aet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2006, 06:04 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: CHICAGO
Posts: 107
i sometimes have problems getting mine to start if the tank is not filed all the way to the top i just keep poring water in with a cup it can take a wile but this method has not failed me in 2 years and defiantly keep the impeller clean
__________________
ianrich147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2006, 05:26 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vienna, West Virginia
Posts: 219
I would clean the impeller and probably clean the spray bars too.
__________________
ckmn101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Emperor 400 Diablos Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 02-07-2007 08:00 PM
Emperor 400? ksfishguy General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 12-09-2006 11:45 PM
emperor 400 dodgersfan25 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 15 10-24-2004 10:46 PM
emperor 400 hacksaw_dan General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 05-30-2004 09:39 PM
emperor 400 fesone General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 11-14-2003 06:07 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.