Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-09-2006, 07:40 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 295
ProClear Pro 75

I bought a new cylinder Pro 75 wet/dry. I have two questions and can not get an answer from anyone at ProClear because no one is ever there except the secretary.

1. The built in skimmer seems impossible to adjust. Sometimes it is foaming over so fast that the aux. overfill cup fills up with water in an hour or two. Other times it produces no foam even if the control valve is removed allowing for maximum air to be blown in. Either way there is always plenty of bubbles swirling in the cylinder, you just can't seem to get it working properly or continually. Any ideas?

2. The overflow box and main drain line gurgle and slup like mad. VERY NOISY. Heck, my Eheim wet/dry never made a sound. How can I reduce the excessive noise?
__________________

__________________
46 gal FOWLR
11lb Live Rock - 40lb Live Sand
ProClear Pro 75 - LR rubble & skimmer in sump
AC 300 HOB
AC 402 Powerhead - AC 301 Powerhead
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2006, 01:00 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dskidmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Genesee Valley
Posts: 2,616
1. I don't know about this particular skimmer, but in general it may take a few weeks for a skimmer to break in. It needs to get a good protien coat going in the bubble column. Give it some time before you get too frustrated with it.

2. gurgle and slurp... The water is surging back and forth in the overflow box? There's a recipie for disaster. Is the output submerged? If so, a T and a siphon break may be your solution. Do you have a camera you could take a picture of the overflow box with? I'm not familiar with the model.
__________________

dskidmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2006, 07:07 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 295
The output pipe and anti-siphon hole are both submerged. No problems on that end.

The noise seems to be caused by the fact that the flexible drain hose, which is about 1.5" in diameter can handle much more water than it is receiving through the pre-filter box. Therefore, it gulps water & air down the fat hose and ejects water and pockets of air into the sump. Quite noisy on both ends.

A bigger sump pump may work but I am already using one that is bigger then needed for my 46gal. Actually, it is overrated for a 75gal.

Still haven't received the return call from ProClear, as promised.
__________________
46 gal FOWLR
11lb Live Rock - 40lb Live Sand
ProClear Pro 75 - LR rubble & skimmer in sump
AC 300 HOB
AC 402 Powerhead - AC 301 Powerhead
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2006, 11:04 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dskidmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Genesee Valley
Posts: 2,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie
The output pipe and anti-siphon hole are both submerged. No problems on that end.
The anti-siphon hole should be on your return line, to force the pipe to gulp air in a power outage. I'm talking about a siphon break on your drain line, so it can burp/suck air as needed there instead of into the sump or out of the overflow.
dskidmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2006, 01:08 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 295
How would you put a siphon break on the drain line?
__________________
46 gal FOWLR
11lb Live Rock - 40lb Live Sand
ProClear Pro 75 - LR rubble & skimmer in sump
AC 300 HOB
AC 402 Powerhead - AC 301 Powerhead
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2006, 02:59 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dskidmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Genesee Valley
Posts: 2,616
If we're only talking about a small amount of air being sucked, you could just drill a hole and silicone in some airline. Run the airline up above your display waterline for safety. If we're talking about a mega-gulp, then a T with a pipe running up (kinda like a snorkel) would work.

In most sump setups, it's easier to just pull the drain tube out of the water, but that wet/dry doesn't look terrably adjustable.

You could also consider replacing the overflow box and drain pipe with something smaller.
__________________

dskidmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
clear

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Proclear Pro wet/dry with built in skimmer?!?! Soldier0117 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 3 12-11-2006 10:34 PM
ProClear Aquatics chabooky386 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 04-10-2006 09:02 AM
Proclear? fishdoc General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 11-03-2005 07:29 PM
Used Wet/Dry Filter from ProClear Quatics evenings Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 08-04-2004 03:02 PM
Is it ok to add Kent Marine ProClear? BlueDolphin Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 7 04-25-2004 07:38 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.