Protein skimmer ?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Fredyyanez

Aquarium Advice Regular
Do. I need a protein skimmer and a filter for a saltwater reef system .?

Hi, sortof depends on a couple things..how big the tank is, if its a reef, the types of corals you keep, your maintanence..etc :)

It's a 55 gallon , and e's it will be a reef. I'm just getting started. All the stuff I'm using are in another thread , I'll put the link right up.

I can't post the link. It's called 55 gallons build , would really appreciate your help :)

Gboy66 said:
Hi, sortof depends on a couple things..how big the tank is, if its a reef, the types of corals you keep, your maintanence..etc :)

I'd say this ^^^^ pretty much sums it up. Just to go a tad further then my buddy here and I'm not sure if this will help but it might give you an idea. Most that have 30 gallons or up run a skimmer and filter. A lot of people with bio cubes 29 and under don't run a skimmer but use some sort of filtration system. I hope that makes sense. I know people that have 10 gallon saltwater tanks and use a filter like the aquaclear 70 or 110 depending on there needs BUT don't run a skimmer. Then you have someone like myself with a bio cube 29 that run a skimmer and the cube already comes with a filtration system that I've upgraded. So... just like Gboy said it really depends on your tank,your stock and your needs.

Good luck

Fredyyanez said:
I can't post the link. It's called 55 gallons build , would really appreciate your help :)

I'd say in a 55 gallon you would want to run a filter and a skimmer. I'm sure some more knowledgeable members will chime in but I think a skimmer and filter on a 55 gallon would be the way to go. Are you going reef or fish only with live rock (FOWLR)

Convict2161 said: