Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 05-24-2011, 09:07 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

Protein skimmer advice

Hello everyone. I am fairly new to the saltwater hobby and have a quaestion about protein skimmers. I purchased a 125g reef setup from th classified ads. The setup came with a coralife protein skimmer, however I think the pump is bad. Is this something I need to get fixed asap, or can I wait a little while? Right now I have a Green Mandarin, 2 Green Chromis, 2 Engineer Gobies and a cleanup crew. There is about 150lbs of live rock, severa Colt Corals and a Mushroom. There was no substrate in the tank, so I put about. 90 lbs of dry Aragonite and 50 lbs of live Aragonite.
Any advice is appreciated.

Old 05-24-2011, 10:47 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak

Did you buy the tank already set up, or did you buy it, fill it, and put fish in?

First, I hope your tank is cycled. Second, I think the protein skimmer can wait a little while, it isn't an absolute necessity - but it will help out a TON in keeping your parameters in check. I don't know much about the coralife skimmers. Is it an in sump skimmer or HOB?

Old 05-24-2011, 11:03 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion

I wouldn't stress the skimmer just yet. Do you have a water testing kit? With the setup the way it was you might want to monitor the ammonia, nitrite and nitrates to make sure all is well and stays well. I just speak from experience. I purchased a 55g all setup and hi nitrates for days and had to do pwc's to get them down before i could have my fish and corals over.

As far as the skimmer, a new pump is quite cheap. Is yours built into the sump or is it a separate piece of equpimnet?
Old 05-24-2011, 12:08 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist