Protein skimmer advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mstrblstr33

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hello everyone. I am fairly new to the saltwater hobby and have a quaestion about protein skimmers. I purchased a 125g reef setup from th classified ads. The setup came with a coralife protein skimmer, however I think the pump is bad. Is this something I need to get fixed asap, or can I wait a little while? Right now I have a Green Mandarin, 2 Green Chromis, 2 Engineer Gobies and a cleanup crew. There is about 150lbs of live rock, severa Colt Corals and a Mushroom. There was no substrate in the tank, so I put about. 90 lbs of dry Aragonite and 50 lbs of live Aragonite.
Any advice is appreciated.

Did you buy the tank already set up, or did you buy it, fill it, and put fish in?

First, I hope your tank is cycled. Second, I think the protein skimmer can wait a little while, it isn't an absolute necessity - but it will help out a TON in keeping your parameters in check. I don't know much about the coralife skimmers. Is it an in sump skimmer or HOB?

I wouldn't stress the skimmer just yet. Do you have a water testing kit? With the setup the way it was you might want to monitor the ammonia, nitrite and nitrates to make sure all is well and stays well. I just speak from experience. I purchased a 55g all setup and hi nitrates for days and had to do pwc's to get them down before i could have my fish and corals over.

As far as the skimmer, a new pump is quite cheap. Is yours built into the sump or is it a separate piece of equpimnet?