Protein Skimmer questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

becz1234

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm a newbie to aquarium keeping, and was never really interested until i saw a saltwater aquarium for the first time. Now I'm planning to start a 55 gallon saltwater tank of my own, and i was wondering about what type(s) of filter i should use. Some people say protein skimmers are necessary for a healthy tank but others dont use them at all. So do I need one? What advantages are there to having a protein skimmer? And would a canister filter work just as well? By the way, my tank will be fowlr for now, but just might add some corals down the road once i'm ready.

Protein skimmers work differently then canister filters. Skimmers remove organics from the water that filters don't. and if your planning on corals you should definitely have one.

Okay thanks. So if I buy a protein skimmer would i need a different kind of filter too? I want to have a healthy tank but I can't spend too much on filters.

sorry were you asking if you need both a protein skimmer and a canister, the answer is yes if your going to keep corals. for now you only need the canister you can add the skimmer later.

Canister filters work fine, just load all the compartments with filter floss and maybe some carbon. Make sure you clean it regularly. Also I would recommend getting a 75g tank instead of a 55. They are the same length and height but the 75 is larger from front to back which is a big difference when setting up your rock.

kdpuffer said:
Canister filters work fine, just load all the compartments with filter floss and maybe some carbon. Make sure you clean it regularly. Also I would recommend getting a 75g tank instead of a 55. They are the same length and height but the 75 is larger from front to back which is a big difference when setting up your rock.