Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-15-2010, 10:20 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
Unhappy Protein Skimmer yet to produce any skimate?

I recently purchased a CPR aeroforce HOB skimmer for my new 50g tank. I have had the skimmer running for two weeks now with some dead base rock in the tank and I just added some LR last night.

The skimmer has yet to produce any skimate, is this normal?

I am also getting a ton of micro bubbles released back into the tank, how do I stop this?!

Know that I am currently using tap water treated with stress coat. I am thinking about purchasing an RO/DI unit if something in the water is the cause of these problems.
__________________

__________________
sroot17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2010, 10:31 AM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Most skimmers have about a two week break in period. There are also some adjustments on most skimmers where you can pick up more skimate.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2010, 10:39 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jimbo7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,996
Couple things, is the tank cycled? Have you done all your due research about the relationship between ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate?
Cycle your salt tank
Ammonia conversion to nitrate
Protein skimmers take waste out of the water, so if you don't have anything producing heavy amounts of waste, you won't get much skimate.
Also, treating tap water with stress coat isn't really a solution. You should call your water provider and ask them for a levels report, usually they have good amounts of heavy metals, nitrites and nitrates. Buying an RO/DI unit is ideal, if not you should purchase water from your LFS, or if you cannot do either, treat the water with fish brand heavy metal removers and other chemical removers. This is really a worst case scenario.
Do you have anyway to test your levels?
__________________
Links to old builds:
12DX LED Build
Frag Tank (Fixed Link)
Dorm Pico Tank
Jimbo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2010, 11:03 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
No the tank is not yet cycled, I just added 50lbs of LR last night, have had about 10lbs of base rock in for the past two weeks, and am hoping to start seeing my ammonia spike soon. As of yesterday my readings for ammonia, nitrites and nitrate were all zero with ph at 8.4.

I will do a test tonight on my tap water and see what it reads. I'm sure they put chlorine in the water and I live in NYC so there must be come copper from the pipes. I was using stress coat because it claims to remove chlorine and heavy metals from tap water. I'm leaning towards getting an ro/di unit but I don't know if I will have room and altering any plumbing is out of the question.

Thanks for your help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimbo7 View Post
Couple things, is the tank cycled? Have you done all your due research about the relationship between ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate?
Cycle your salt tank
Ammonia conversion to nitrate
Protein skimmers take waste out of the water, so if you don't have anything producing heavy amounts of waste, you won't get much skimmate.
Also, treating tap water with stress coat isn't really a solution. You should call your water provider and ask them for a levels report, usually they have good amounts of heavy metals, nitrites and nitrates. Buying an RO/DI unit is ideal, if not you should purchase water from your LFS, or if you cannot do either, treat the water with fish brand heavy metal removers and other chemical removers. This is really a worst case scenario.
Do you have anyway to test your levels?
__________________
sroot17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2010, 11:27 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jimbo7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,996
Quote:
Originally Posted by sroot17 View Post
No the tank is not yet cycled, I just added 50lbs of LR last night, have had about 10lbs of base rock in for the past two weeks, and am hoping to start seeing my ammonia spike soon. As of yesterday my readings for ammonia, nitrites and nitrate were all zero with ph at 8.4.

I will do a test tonight on my tap water and see what it reads. I'm sure they put chlorine in the water and I live in NYC so there must be come copper from the pipes. I was using stress coat because it claims to remove chlorine and heavy metals from tap water. I'm leaning towards getting an ro/di unit but I don't know if I will have room and altering any plumbing is out of the question.

Thanks for your help
NP, sounds good. A lot of RO/DI units you can just screw onto your normal kitchen faucet. Make sure you add an additional source of ammonia to kick things off, several examples are given in that article. What size tank is it, got any sweet plans for it?
__________________
Links to old builds:
12DX LED Build
Frag Tank (Fixed Link)
Dorm Pico Tank
Jimbo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2010, 11:35 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
I have a 50g and was planning on going fish only but after 2 months of research I don't know how I could not do some soft and LPS corals as well.

I was contemplating using a shrimp to get the ammonia going, I'll give that a try as well.

Do you think the issues with my skimmer have to do with the tank not being cycled or the quality of my water?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimbo7 View Post
NP, sounds good. A lot of RO/DI units you can just screw onto your normal kitchen faucet. Make sure you add an additional source of ammonia to kick things off, several examples are given in that article. What size tank is it, got any sweet plans for it?
__________________
sroot17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2010, 11:57 AM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jimbo7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,996
Quote:
Originally Posted by sroot17 View Post
I have a 50g and was planning on going fish only but after 2 months of research I don't know how I could not do some soft and LPS corals as well.

I was contemplating using a shrimp to get the ammonia going, I'll give that a try as well.

Do you think the issues with my skimmer have to do with the tank not being cycled or the quality of my water?
Sweet, I always liked the dimensions of the 50 gallons. So much depth to work with.
And i think your issues with your skimmer are because you have nothing to skim

The micro bubbles though I would take care of. They can stick to coral and kill that little area. I have never dealt with a HOB skimmer, but I would just sit and keep fiddling with it. Or maybe someone else will chime in.
__________________
Links to old builds:
12DX LED Build
Frag Tank (Fixed Link)
Dorm Pico Tank
Jimbo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2010, 03:41 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
milhous3er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 248
with an overflow like that on a skimmer i wouldn't know what to do. i have a cpr also, but its a bakpak2, so im kinda out of help. could you place some filterfloss (enough to trap the bubbles, but not reduce flow) up top by the overflow ?? maybe rig it up alittle with some good old fashioned rubberbands (until you find a permanent solution).

try this site-
CPR Aquatic Technical Support :: View Forum - Protein Skimmer Questions a mod is usually pretty good on helping with technical questions. hope this helps
__________________
milhous3er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2010, 03:59 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
Thanks milhous3er for the link.

I'm going to let the skimmer run as is for a couple more weeks hoping that the bubbles are due to there not being enough of a bioload yet and the fact that the unit is brand new and there are conditioners in the water. If that doesn't help I'm going to have to rig something up.


Quote:
Originally Posted by milhous3er View Post
with an overflow like that on a skimmer i wouldn't know what to do. i have a cpr also, but its a bakpak2, so im kinda out of help. could you place some filterfloss (enough to trap the bubbles, but not reduce flow) up top by the overflow ?? maybe rig it up alittle with some good old fashioned rubberbands (until you find a permanent solution).

try this site-
CPR Aquatic Technical Support :: View Forum - Protein Skimmer Questions a mod is usually pretty good on helping with technical questions. hope this helps
__________________
sroot17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2010, 05:43 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
milhous3er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 248
your still going to have bubble. the acclimation time is the time it usually takes to produce skimmate. your bubbles are going up the column and getting directed to the overflow. i reduced the air into my skimmer, so it produces a nice dry skimmate. hardly any microbubbles in tank after i did that.
__________________

__________________
milhous3er is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aeroforce, bubbles, protein, protein skimmer, skimate, skimmer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
***FOR SALE*** RedSea Prizm Skimmer PROTEIN SKIMMER mike3epanda Archive 0 09-08-2007 09:47 PM
RedSea Prizm Skimmer PROTEIN SKIMMER *TRADE* mike3epanda Archive 0 09-08-2007 09:44 PM
FS: AquaC Remora Protein Skimmer w/ Skimmer Box (USED) jmh2536 Archive 1 07-26-2006 02:45 PM
Coralife Super Skimmer Needle Wheel Protein Skimmer roka64 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 06-20-2006 07:27 PM
If doing 40% water change weekly will skimmer not produce jasno999 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 03-05-2006 11:07 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.