Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 11-19-2003, 04:57 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

Send a message via AIM to AngelFishFan
Protein Skimmers, Etc.

Are Protein Skimmers required for Marine Aquariums? Ive been doing freshwater aquariums and ponds for many years, and I want to start a saltwater tank. Recommendations are greatly appreciated! I need all of the advice I can get! I am willing to spend the money on the good stuff... and not get ****** stuff and regret it later. Thanks for the help!

Keegan, Marine Tank Novice

Old 11-19-2003, 05:09 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

thats a big debate by alot out there but imo your better off with one than with out ! unless your not like the most of us that like to put mabe alittle more in their tanks than they should have but most would agree that ya shoulkd have one for sure !

Old 11-19-2003, 05:11 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist

How Do You Clean Them?
Old 11-19-2003, 05:12 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak

Well first of all you need to know if you want an in sump or hob (hang on back) skimmer. You need to know the size of your tank since each skimmer is rated to clean certain sizes. Im personally a fan of aquac the remora and urchin and ev series. They all work well and have recevied a lot of good reviews. A skimmer isnt "Required" its just a good thing to have on your tank since it removes a lot of detritus and particulate. One of the main things you need to consider is your price range. Skimmers arent cheap which led me to make my own but if you have the money for one they are worth every penny.
Old 11-19-2003, 05:15 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist