Protein Skimmers, Etc.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AngelFishFan

Aquarium Advice Activist
Are Protein Skimmers required for Marine Aquariums? Ive been doing freshwater aquariums and ponds for many years, and I want to start a saltwater tank. Recommendations are greatly appreciated! I need all of the advice I can get! I am willing to spend the money on the good stuff... and not get shitty stuff and regret it later. Thanks for the help!

Keegan, Marine Tank Novice

thats a big debate by alot out there but imo your better off with one than with out ! unless your not like the most of us that like to put mabe alittle more in their tanks than they should have :) but most would agree that ya shoulkd have one for sure !

Well first of all you need to know if you want an in sump or hob (hang on back) skimmer. You need to know the size of your tank since each skimmer is rated to clean certain sizes. Im personally a fan of aquac the remora and urchin and ev series. They all work well and have recevied a lot of good reviews. A skimmer isnt "Required" its just a good thing to have on your tank since it removes a lot of detritus and particulate. One of the main things you need to consider is your price range. Skimmers arent cheap which led me to make my own but if you have the money for one they are worth every penny.

I was looking into the red sea skimmers. I am going to go with a 75 or 90 gallon tank. So probably just a H.O.B. Unless you suggest otherwise? I was going to get a protein skimmer, and an emperor 400gph wet/dry filter. Suggestions?

AngelFishFan said:
How Do You Clean Them?
I use a toothbrush and cold water. Just make sure the toothbrush you use isn't anywhere close to where you brush your teeth...wouldn't want to get mixed up and grab the wrong one 8O .