Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 01-28-2004, 03:23 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Send a message via AIM to Phiberop
Protien Skimming Question??

I am new to this and have a Q about protien skimming. I have it running now and it is causing a large amount of small bubbles at the point of water return in the tank. Is this normal? Will it keep doing it? Is there a way to prevent this so the clarity stays in the water.

Thanks for the help.

Old 01-28-2004, 08:03 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist

What kind of skimmer is it? How long have you been runnig it? What other kind of mechanical filtration do you have? How old is your tank?

It is somewhat normal for a hang-on model to have some bubbles in the overflow. How many depends on the amount of DOC you have built up in you tank. Eventually the amount of bubbles will decrease to a manageble minimum. How long this takes depends on the quality of the skimmer you bought, how often and what you feed, and the size of the tank.

All things said, the presense of the bubbles means that the skimmer is doing its' job. What you are seeing is that the more DOC you have in your tank, the harder the skimmer has to work and more of the bubbles escape back into the tank. This will get less and less as DOC are removed. HTH

Howard

Old 01-28-2004, 09:06 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak

Send a message via AIM to yaksplat Send a message via MSN to yaksplat Send a message via Yahoo to yaksplat
Mine's been doing that for the last two weeks now. I've heard that it can last up to a month or so.

Jim
Old 01-28-2004, 12:56 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Send a message via AIM to Phiberop
Protien Skimming