Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-17-2006, 11:22 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 14
Pump size?

I would like some info on pump sizes for proper flow and turn over on a 150 gal. tank?Is there a calculation?I have 3' head pressure.Thank you in advance.
__________________

__________________
spartan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 03:28 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Are you talking water flow in the main tank? Or are you talking about a pump that will pump water into/out of the tanks from something lioke a sump/fuge?
If you are talking water movment in the main tank, you would want at least 10x.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 08:17 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 14
I was talking from sump to the main tank.I just purchased a Blueline 20 hd mag. pump 480 g.p.h. @ 4' head for that purpose, and was wondering if thats enought?
__________________
spartan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 11:58 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
Depends on what the overflow is rated at. You should base your return pump on the overflow rating not the flow you want to have in the tank. I am sure that pump will work but for a reef, you will want more water movement than that. PH's or a closed loop can take care of that though.

If you have 2 internal overflows, you should be able to handle 1200 gph through them. A typical AGA overflow will handle 600+. Not sure what you have though.
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pump size land locked General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 12 03-14-2008 09:50 PM
Size of PVC piping in relation to size of pump connections chase33 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 02-19-2007 05:17 AM
What size pump to get pearsont74 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 01-28-2005 01:01 PM
What size pump do I need? rdefino Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 10-28-2004 12:17 PM
What size pump? 24 hours? NE! Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 13 05-30-2004 06:35 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.