Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-27-2010, 12:51 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Pumps Help!

Hi Everyone,

We have a 110 gallon tank and we are having issues, our pump just went out and we need a new one, we saw a Koralia Mag 8 for sale and we were thinking about that. But we already have a Koralia Mag 6 which is 2200gph.
And the Hydor Koralia Magnum 8 Circulation Pump/Powerhead is 3250 gph.

Is that too much flow? Help?


Not sure what to do!! If it is to much flow what size should we buy?
__________________

__________________
wifey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 03:07 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
Which pump is out. your pump that moves water through your system or the one in your DT used to move water around in that tank?
__________________

__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 03:18 PM   #3
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
Yeah which pump is it that failed? Which pumps in the tank are still working? What kind of livestock do you have in the tank?

Oh, and Welcome to AA!
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 03:37 PM   #4
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
and what are your water parameters!
__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 03:41 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
gosh I feel silly, the pump that is out is the one that moves the water around in the tank. We have corals and fish. My husband is the one that normally goes on here and posts things but he is at work and I was trying to get a pump for his birthday. So I am trying to do this so sorry if I am not good at explaning.

We have the 6 in the tank now, the 4 is the one that went out. does this help out all?
__________________
wifey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 04:05 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
First thing is to make sure that the Koralia is of the correct voltage. They now have their pumps in either 110 volts AC or 12 volts DC. The 12v needs their controller to function correctly.
If you like the amount of flow from the K-6 I would go with another one like that. Now if you and your husband think you need more flow go with the K-8. If you have sps's I'd go with the k-8.
__________________

__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pumps

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How many pumps do I need? ILoveMyFish General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 03-11-2008 03:24 PM
Pumps/ph MarineFlake General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 03-01-2005 01:04 AM
Sandstorm - Pumps or no Pumps? Nate C Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 09-07-2004 07:26 PM
Pumps... BlueCrystalMan Freshwater & Brackish - Coldwater, Native Fish & Ponds 7 08-21-2004 07:23 PM
pumps marinelife Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 03-18-2004 09:48 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.