Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-05-2006, 11:37 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 97
qt setup

it is obvious that i should set up a qt, especially the further and further i get into my tank. i would hate to lose everything over laziness.

my main question is what is generally required for a qt, and how do most people set them up? are the constantly running, or do you just add tank water or something? is it costly if you have to run a whole seperate tank, in time and money? thanks
__________________

__________________
mazilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2006, 11:49 PM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,242
It`s done both ways. I know people that break their`s down and use it when they need it and I know people that keep it going all the time. I would imagine to keep setting it up would cost more.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2006, 08:39 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 186
Here is an article I wrote on setting up a quarantine, http://www.reefkeeping.com/issues/20...ture/index.php I hope you find it helpful.
__________________
http://www.macna2007.com
Steven Pro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2006, 09:53 AM   #4
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,242
I cant speak for the poster but I found it very interesting. Nice article
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2006, 01:07 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 97
great article, i think. i dont really know, but it seems pretty solid. i'm going to set up a 10-15 gallon qt. i still have some of my freshwater whisper filters, should i just hang the small one on my big tank and let it run until i need to move it to the qt? since i have a fluval, maybe i could put one of their sponges back into the canister and let it run(cleaning often), then i can just cram that into the whisper when it's time? that way i dont have another piece of equipment hanging off my tank. what do you guys/gals without sumps do? thanks a bunch for the info, i'm gonna craigslist a small tank now.
__________________
mazilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2006, 01:42 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Actually, your fluvial should have sponges in it and you can probably use one of those to seed your QT. I would rinse it out in your old SW, after 2-3 weeks, in your fluvial, you should have a nicely seeded sponge. Other's are free to comment or correct me.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2006, 03:04 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 97
i took the sponge out of the fluval, i didnt want the dreaded nitrate factory and all. but i do routine maintanence on my tank, that includes the fluval so it wouldnt be much to just rinse the filter ew when im doing it.
__________________

__________________
mazilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
setup

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This are my Setup!!! Reefway Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 04-15-2008 11:30 AM
55 gal filter setup & CO2 setup Codefox Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 8 01-10-2006 10:59 AM
FO setup ez29 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 09-19-2005 04:06 PM
My First Setup sugarfree Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 20 12-03-2004 11:58 AM
help with a new setup tpaparazzo Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 08-28-2003 10:13 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.