Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-30-2012, 03:12 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
chbix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 161
Qt tank.

So I want to get a qt tank. Probably 5-10g.


My question is do you guys qt corals and inverts or just fish?
__________________

__________________
chbix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 03:27 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
h8z2luze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nor*Cal
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to h8z2luze Send a message via MSN to h8z2luze Send a message via Yahoo to h8z2luze
I dont see a reason to QT corals or inverts unless maybe they are hurt?
__________________

__________________
h8z2luze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 03:32 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
Well depends on who you ask. Ich can and will hitch a ride on coral, inverts, macro algae and rock if it comes from an infected tank.
__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 03:43 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
chbix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 161
Hmm.


Ok so to buy list
Tank
Heater
Hob filter

My thought is to keep the hob filters in my sump to get all the good bacteria on them for the qt tank.

When I use the qt tank should I use water from the main tank as well? It's not going to be set up all the time.

Obviously I would check parameters on the qt tank but what other maintenance Shoukd I do while fish is in there? ( water changes?)
__________________
chbix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 04:29 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
Sounds like you got it figured out. Just maintain qt like you would any tank .
__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 04:34 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
h8z2luze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nor*Cal
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to h8z2luze Send a message via MSN to h8z2luze Send a message via Yahoo to h8z2luze
You shouldnt need to use water from your main tank as long as your filter is seeded good. Probably better to use new water anyway.
__________________
h8z2luze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 01:34 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 171
I keep the sponge filter in my sump. When I need to set up QT I use 1/2 water from DT and 1/2 new water. QT is bare..only heater, filter and a top.
__________________

__________________
bonniewoodruff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
qt tank, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.