Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-15-2005, 08:34 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: california
Posts: 66
qt tank

I just set up a qt tank 10g from walmart. has hang on back filter. I put in a lr about 7lbs. and used water from main tank. which has good peramaters. just checked qt and amonima was at .50 and nitrites .25 is this normal should I just let it cycle get a different filter ???????????
__________________

__________________
pacheco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 08:58 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,111
You shouldn't use LR from your main in QT. The LR from your main has a lot of organisms on it that won't survive if you have to treat your tank. At that point you probably won't be able to put the LR back into your main (since it could be infested with something) and you won't be able to keep it in QT. Not sure why the LR from your main would be showing ammo & trite right now unless you've put a fish in there. If there's no fish then just let it cycle. If there are fish in there (how many?) then you should do water changes to keep the ammo as low as you can.

What I did was purchase base rock for use in the QT. The only thing it has on it is the bio filter that's been created by being in the tank. I get the benefit of the additional bio filter without the risk of die off. If I were to treat the tank with any meds like copper the rock would come out since most meds like that would kill off the beneficial bacteria anyway. My gramma's made the rock her home.
__________________

__________________
Phyllis

Join the NJ Reef Club Today! Saving the world's reefs one living room at a time!
MACNA XXI Atlantic City, NJ September 25-27, 2009
Phyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 09:38 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: california
Posts: 66
qt tank

I didn't put lr from main tank in the qt tank the rock was new. don't have any problems wit main tank just qt tank maybe I just have to wait for it to cycle the only thing I used from amin tank was the water.
__________________
pacheco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 10:08 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,111
Ahhh... new live rock! If you have new live rock in your QT then it might not have been cured or there might have been a little die off from transport. A mini-cycle would be expected in those settings. If the rock is the only thing in there then you can let it cycle. What are you planning for when the cycle's passed?

Just make sure to take the rock out if you have to treat the QT with any meds as you wouldn't want to add to the ammonia with die off from the rock.
__________________
Phyllis

Join the NJ Reef Club Today! Saving the world's reefs one living room at a time!
MACNA XXI Atlantic City, NJ September 25-27, 2009
Phyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2005, 01:27 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Barboursville WV
Posts: 317
Send a message via AIM to AR15 guy
With new water, filter, and rock should I expect a large spike? I just lost two damsels in my little 10 gallon. Tank is new so I suspect ammonia is the cause.
__________________
38 gal SW, CC, 40lbs base rock, 5lbs live, emporer 280, bio-wheel 330,tronic heater, 2 O. clowns, 1 firefish.

29 gal FW, boring...soon to be salt I think.

10 gal SW, 20lbs LS, 20lbs base rock, 1 unhappy domino damsel (he was in the 38...switched the percs and the damesel recently).
AR15 guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2005, 10:16 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
Quote:
Tank is new so I suspect ammonia is the cause.
I would agree. That is why most of us do not advocate using damsels for cycling.
What I would do....get a small aquarium safe sponge and place it in your trickle filter. It will colonize with bacteria and you can then remove the LR to your main before you add fish to the qt.
No sense wasting the rock if you need to treat your fish for anything.
__________________

__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
qt tank, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.