Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-14-2011, 05:33 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bloomk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 218
I said filtered and i mean cycled.. Noob!!! Lol, I can't edit the title... anyways..

Am setting up a QT tank for fish I ordered and the cycled media I had lined up won't work. So now what do I do? I have 2 schooling bannerfish coming Friday. 15 gallon qt Tank is set up with hob aqueon filter. Should I sacrifice some live rock? I can't even find a sponge filter and even If I did I doubt I could seed it in 4 days..
__________________

__________________
Bloomk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 05:52 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Central PA
Posts: 1,651
Yes,,i always use some live rock(from DT) in my QT along with my HOB media
__________________

__________________
Currently rebuilding
QTing is a good thing
Grow your filtration
FTMMWS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 05:58 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bloomk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by FTMMWS
Yes,,i always use some live rock(from DT) in my QT along with my HOB media
And I assume I don't want to move it till the fish go in so that the bacteria have something to eat ( if I put it in now, they will starve till the fish go in)
__________________
Bloomk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 08:07 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
BallinCrew10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Auburn MA
Posts: 944
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloomk

And I assume I don't want to move it till the fish go in so that the bacteria have something to eat ( if I put it in now, they will starve till the fish go in)
You could move it before but would need to add a source of ammonia to keep it live. Personally, I'd wait until they arrived, make it easier.
__________________
BallinCrew10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 06:22 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bloomk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 218
What about a 60 gallon hob filter with carbon? It says it eliminates ammonia...
__________________
Bloomk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, media, qt tank, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Queston about using Media from another tank CleverBs Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 09-11-2011 06:50 PM
My new 75 gallon used tank cycle project Tank_Girl Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 0 09-06-2011 07:54 PM
starting a 20 gallon fowlr tank PLEASE HELP volcomkrew4life Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 08-08-2011 11:19 PM
New 29 Gallon Tank Setup Lioness2 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 08-07-2011 06:38 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.