Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-29-2003, 01:50 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to toddwess
Quaranteen Tank Question

Real quick . . .

The info on here says to buy a "sponge filter". What is a sponge filter? Can you give me a name brand or something so I can get an idea?

Does the quaranteen tank need to cycle? If I take 10 gallons from my current tank does it need to cycle?

After the fish leave the tank, do I keep the quaranteen/hospital tank running or take it down and only set it up again when I need it?

Does a quaranteen tank need a light?

Does a quaranteen tank need LR? I know it needs stuff for hiding, but does it need LR?

Thanks!

does a quaranteen tank need sand?
__________________

__________________
toddwess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2003, 10:25 PM   #2
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Quaranteen Tank Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by toddwess
The info on here says to buy a "sponge filter". What is a sponge filter? Can you give me a name brand or something so I can get an idea?
There are many types available, here are a few, #1, #2, #3.

Quote:
Does the quaranteen tank need to cycle? If I take 10 gallons from my current tank does it need to cycle?
Cycling is not a neccessity but using the newly aquired sponge filter in the main tank for a week prior to set up of the QT will colonize necessary bacteria and promote a healthier environment. You should aslo make sure if copper basedmeds are used in the QT it is never placed back in the main tank. Using water from the main tank to fill the QT will help start of with a decent SG, ph and temp but will do nothing for the bacterial process.

Quote:
After the fish leave the tank, do I keep the quaranteen/hospital tank running or take it down and only set it up again when I need it?
Purely your choice.

Quote:
Does a quaranteen tank need a light?
No, in fact it can be harmful when treating eye problems. If anything a low wattage NO strip light could be used.

Quote:
Does a quaranteen tank need LR? I know it needs stuff for hiding, but does it need LR?
No and it's not recommeded as it absorbs the meds that may be used hampering treatment. Most if not all meds will also kill everything in the LR except bacteria unless using anti-biotics. Same goes for the sand.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2003, 10:34 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to toddwess
Awesome advice and help, Steve! Thanks! I got all the stuff I need, and the filter is hangin' on the sump as we speak.

Thanks!

Todd
__________________
toddwess is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about tank mates / Tank Size... Verbalkint Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 11-03-2006 05:01 PM
used tank question justrelax Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 05-29-2006 09:00 AM
QT Tank....another question fishman Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 1 05-28-2004 08:26 PM
Q tank question... stryder Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 11-16-2003 03:15 PM
Not a tank question....but sig question? Coralena Forum Admin & Announcements 5 08-28-2003 03:41 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.