Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-31-2009, 06:46 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 173
Quarantine question

Im going to set up a quarantine tank but here is my question and probably a studid question. Im going to use an old fluval canaster filter for my QT but i do not want to keep it up all the time. So, do i have this right in that i should just buy some sponge media to put in my display tank to establish it then when im ready i just put it in my fluval. What kind of media should i use i was thinking of those ceramic rings by fluval or should i use a sponge filter. these filter media are going to be going in my canister filter on my main tank and this is why i dont want to put a sponge filter in there due to catching debris in the main causing nitrate problems later. So will these ceramic rings provide enough bacteria for my qt. And also once i am done with my QT should i just throw away the filter media in the QT and begin new stuff in my main tank for later use in my QT.
__________________

__________________
brianf40us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 06:51 PM   #2
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
How bout this, my Fluvals came with an abundance of ceramics.. I mean enough to build a small city. MY first suggestion would be to run the canister full time on your sump with just the ceramics and then move to the qt but its not clear if you have a sump. Secondly I would pack in all the ceramics. When I needed QT, take one of the baskets of ceramics out, and into the QT. When done with QT; clean, chlorine , dechlor, dry and put back in the can to reseed until the next time ...
__________________

__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 07:17 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 173
No sump yet. So the ceramics would be sufficient for bacteria to run about a 30 gallon QT. you mean only run the fluval with one basket of Ceramics in it. and leave the rest of the ceramics in my Display tank.
__________________
brianf40us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 07:21 PM   #4
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
I may have made a bad assumption, so let me restate..

Assumng you are using the Fluval for filtration on your main,

I am suggesting.. loading it up (2 baskets at least) with ceramics. When you need a qt, remove on basket and put it in your QT with a powerhead. That puts a good amount of bacteria in your QT. When QT ends, sterilize the ceramics and put them back in the can to reseed from your main.

If the canister is an 'extra' filter on the main, do the same except move the whole dern thing instead of just a basket.
__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 01:58 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 173
sterilize do you mean boil them cuz i know some people use bleach but im not into using bleach on it if im going to put it back in my main tank to seed it self again
__________________
brianf40us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 02:05 PM   #6
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
why not? just soak in a dechlor solution afterward ....

so, not i don't mean boil but you can use the cleaning method of your choice
__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 02:38 PM   #7
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I agree with the captain. You can use bleach. Just let it air dry and the bleach will be gone or as captain said just use dechlorinator.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 02:46 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,462
I would not just let the bleach air dry as residues will remain. Either rinse extremely well or use sts (sodium thiosulphate) for virtually instant dechlor.
Innovator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 11:42 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 173
how about a bunch of prime by seachem
__________________
brianf40us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 03:53 PM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,462
Prime doesn't remove bleach nor do most aquarium dechlors., just chlorine, chloramines, and NH3 (binds them). If you can't find sts then just rinse extremely well.
__________________

Innovator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
quarantine

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quarantine question leeveh99 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 6 11-07-2009 08:39 PM
Quarantine question timwag2001 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 04-09-2009 01:33 PM
Quarantine question severum mama Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 06-06-2007 04:05 PM
Quarantine question tarheelblue2121 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 01-06-2004 07:55 PM
Quarantine Tank Question leafyseadragon Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 12-19-2003 01:18 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.