Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-25-2008, 11:19 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 49
Quarantine Tank

I currently have a 29 gallon display tank FOWLR. I am interested in setting up a quarantine tank to protect my main tank. I was looking at the Eclipse System 12 by Marineland as a quarantine tank. Would this be a good move? Does anyone have any experience with this tank?....Thanks
__________________

__________________
kmacc99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2008, 01:36 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
I have one that I originall bought to use as my QT. It's not a bad tank, but the lgiht fixture in mine broke. Marineland sent me a new hood. The fixture in that one stopped working. They sent me another hood. Then that one stopped working. I don't know if they ever worked out the light fixture problem, but for a QT tank it's bad.
For less money than the cost of Eclipse you can buy a 10 gallon tank, heater and a hob filter with a biowheel. Throw some eggcrate on top of that and you have all you need.
__________________

cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2008, 02:05 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 49
Would I need a light with a hood or will just the eggcrate suffice?
__________________
kmacc99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2008, 02:37 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 49
Would I need an airstone or powerhead to agitate the water?
__________________
kmacc99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2008, 04:08 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dskidmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Genesee Valley
Posts: 2,616
Light in the QT is useful for observing the fish. Especially if you're treating a problem rather than just doing a precautionary new stock QT. You don't need anything special though, a spare desk lamp will do.

If you do as Cmor suggested and get a HOB filter, that will agitate the water enough without an airstone or powerhead.
dskidmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2008, 05:52 PM   #6
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
An Ounce of Prevention is Worth a Pound of Cure: A Quarantine Tank for Everything by Steven Pro - Reefkeeping.com
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2008, 08:10 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,462
A simple process would be using a sponge filter and performing 50% water changes daily, which you would need to anyways in treating with most medications. If you don't mind the minimal electrical consumption then an hob filter is even better. Don't forget a heater and if you can, purchase a 20g instead.
__________________
Innovator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2008, 09:55 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 313
Is a quarantine tank really necessary? I honestly have no intention of keeping one, the main tank is time consuming/expensive/a space hog enough as it is!
__________________
Patroklos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2008, 10:09 AM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Ask that question again after your first outbreak of Ich. The larger the tank the more important a QT tank is. This is for QT of the fish for 30 dyas before adding it to the main tank. It is essential as a hospital tank when there is a problem.

It doesn't need to up and running all the time.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2008, 11:06 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 313
I guess it is no big deal to keep a biowheel or sponge filter running off my sump, but while the quarintine tank is running it pretty much doubles tank upkeep duties!

I guess I already took the plunge, no sense in being stingy now.
__________________

__________________
Patroklos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
quarantine, quarantine tank, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quarantine Tank brianf40us Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 12-13-2008 10:09 PM
Quarantine Tank faerykisses General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 11-22-2005 02:07 PM
Quarantine tank DiverDown General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 09-15-2005 11:39 AM
Quarantine Tank Ximat Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 14 02-13-2005 02:15 PM
Quarantine tank? acid_burn Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 4 03-18-2004 07:28 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.