Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-22-2012, 05:40 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Lauramichelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 127
Quarantine tank setup

I keep hearing I should quarantine my fish for 6-8 wks before introducing them to my 20 gal. If so, how large? Do I need to cycle it? Is it just water? Or do I use sand and rock? Etc etc etc. You are the experts, so I'm asking. Thank you
__________________

__________________
Lauramichelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 06:23 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
barterking85's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Canada, Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lauramichelle
I keep hearing I should quarantine my fish for 6-8 wks before introducing them to my 20 gal. If so, how large? Do I need to cycle it? Is it just water? Or do I use sand and rock? Etc etc etc. You are the experts, so I'm asking. Thank you
I just use whatever I have on hand for me it's a 15 gallon qt I keep it cycled with guppies or move a filter from my big tank onto the qt when I need it. For a qt don't use any substrate so you can see the poop for signs of infection
__________________

__________________
My biggest worry is that when I'm dead my wife will sell my aquarium gear for what I "SAID" I paid for it.
Ryan
barterking85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 06:29 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bskerrichard27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,170
Yes u need to cycle it as for taking a filter from one tank and putting on qt that will work but if you use copper meds don't put it back if u have inverts and corals as they are intolerable to copper
__________________
bskerrichard27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 06:48 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
barterking85's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Canada, Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,532
Yeah I should have went into depth some more I have a big bag of filter media and a spare AC70 I run new media on my established tank for qt or new tanks if I use it on the qt I just toss it when I am done and put fresh media back in and run it on my established tank until its needed again
__________________
My biggest worry is that when I'm dead my wife will sell my aquarium gear for what I "SAID" I paid for it.
Ryan
barterking85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 12:20 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Lauramichelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 127
So should I move water from my primary tank, say during a water change, over to the qt. Then move the "used" filter media over to the qt? Then start monitoring the cycle? No lv or ls? Will the good bacteria remain in the qt? Sorry for the questions but I'm really new at this. Thank you.
__________________
Lauramichelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 07:58 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bskerrichard27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,170
I use my old water and filter media some may not but I don't keep my qt up all the time I only set it up when I'm getting new fish ... Some choose to use all new stuff water media etc ..... But I don't so your answer is yes you can as long as the water pars are good
__________________

__________________
bskerrichard27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
quarantine, quarantine tank, setup, tan, tank setup

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Guide to Starting a Freshwater Aquarium librarygirl Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 32 03-20-2013 12:50 PM
Correct placement of overflow tubes in a jet stream tank setup lchaleff General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 01-04-2012 07:52 PM
HELP!!! new tank setup for betta breeding bryanmc1988 Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding 2 09-28-2011 11:22 PM
New 120 Gallon Tank Setup Chizzle007 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 09-01-2011 09:51 AM
Quarantine tank setup for use with quarantined plants? robby Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 06-28-2011 03:00 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.