Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-18-2012, 10:50 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Nevada
Posts: 320
question about base rock

I am starting from the very beginning and I have chosen to a FOWLER.I have heard and I was told by a fe members on the site that base rock can turn into live rock.Do I have to wait to add base rock or can I add it at the same time I add my live rock?I was told base rock is less expensive and I want a nice tank but don't want to spend a fortune.I have chosen Tukani live rock and I will have a 36 gallon tank.
__________________

__________________
Criptix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 11:17 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
DanS180's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Blackwood, NJ
Posts: 3,346
You can add base rock and live rock in at the same time. Or at anytime for that matter. The live rock will seed the base rock and in time, turn the base into live rock.
__________________

__________________
DanS180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 02:38 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Nevada
Posts: 320
What does it mean when a description says the lr needs medium lighting?
__________________
Criptix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 03:07 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
DanS180's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Blackwood, NJ
Posts: 3,346
Where does it say that? To my knowledge, LR doesn't need any light
__________________
DanS180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 08:06 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
paul87's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 4,267
No light needed for live rock! Unless you have corals or macro algae on it thar you want to live, but that's not the rock. I use cheap lace rock for my base rock. Cheap and looks great! It can be added at anytime just rinse well before adding it. Get all the dirt and moss or whatever off of it.
__________________

paul87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 01:10 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Nevada
Posts: 320
Sorry it must have been something else I was looking at that needed medium light. I have been looking at so many sites in regards to equip and aqua scape that I got a little mixed up. .Thanks for your advice and comments!
__________________
Criptix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 05:44 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
DanS180's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Blackwood, NJ
Posts: 3,346
Quote:
Originally Posted by Criptix
Sorry it must have been something else I was looking at that needed medium light. I have been looking at so many sites in regards to equip and aqua scape that I got a little mixed up. .Thanks for your advice and comments!
Anytime!
__________________

__________________
DanS180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
base, base rock, question, rock

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.