Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-05-2010, 08:47 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
sean112280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: JBLM,WA
Posts: 264
Question on Fuge

As my set-up is now, I was wondering if I can make a part of it a fuge? Does anybody see a way to do this? I am a lil confused as to how I would do it.


Thanks
Sean
Attached Images
  
__________________

__________________
sean112280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 09:25 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Tank2379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via MSN to Tank2379 Send a message via Yahoo to Tank2379
I would make the chamber where you have your skimmer at the Fuge and move the Skimmer over to the Overflow side- IMO the bigger the fuge the better...
__________________

Tank2379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 09:25 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Fastfossil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 285
Sorry bud just had to say nice set up but I cant help.
__________________
Fastfossil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 09:28 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
sean112280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: JBLM,WA
Posts: 264
Tank- I can try that. I have to see if my skimmer will fit in that section. good idea. thanks.

Fastfossil-Thank you I appreciate it
__________________
sean112280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 09:52 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
i would put the skimmer in the section on the right. put the return pump in that small section on the left, and the refugium in the middle.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 10:22 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
sean112280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: JBLM,WA
Posts: 264
Mr. X,

I like your idea too. I just need to see if my tubing will reach. I guess I will try both ways and see which way would better work out. Now is there anything special I would have to do to turn it into a fuge? or would it be good the way it is?
__________________
sean112280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 10:50 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
just toss some macros in the area and maybe some live rock rubble and put a light over it. that's it. some use the refugium to house a deep sand bed also.
i'm just wondering why you have your return pump half way up and in that giant compartment. it seems like a waste. how much does tubing cost?
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 10:55 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
sean112280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: JBLM,WA
Posts: 264
yea this was an upgrade from the 30 gal that is now my sump, and i haven't gotten any more tubing to let it sit on the bottom. Due to your suggestions I will probably shift things around. I am still fairly new at this and I learn new things everyday. That is why I am asking about a fuge. I didn't thing about it when I turned the 30 into a sump. This was all DIY.
__________________
sean112280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 10:59 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
ahh..not enough tubing...lol...i thought there was something else, like micro bubbles or something. gotcha.
btw, what is that chain? holding the return pump? is that in the water? if so, i would get it out. salt water and metals....stainless or not...
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 11:02 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
sean112280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: JBLM,WA
Posts: 264
yep not enough tubing. Its is plastic coated chain. Yea it was a quick fix, I will fix it. I just need to get some more tubing and I will be good. Can I use tubing from home depot? or does it have to be from my LFS?
__________________

__________________
sean112280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fuge Question IhaveNemos Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 07-17-2006 05:53 PM
FUGE question bapski Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 03-10-2006 01:56 AM
Question about the fuge.... c0mf0rt Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 01-19-2005 05:46 PM
Fuge Question fishman Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 08-24-2004 11:22 AM
Fuge Question lad2knowu Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 06-22-2004 01:21 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.