Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-04-2011, 11:09 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
sean112280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: JBLM,WA
Posts: 264
question on phosphates

OK my question is what are the effects of phosphates in a tank? I have some phosphates in my tank that I can't find where they are coming from. My RO/DI water has no detectable phosphates. but my tank has phosphates. Any ideas as to what will cause me to have these and whats a good way to lower or get rid of them?

Thanks,
Sean
__________________

__________________
sean112280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 11:11 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Not the scientist, but I've heard of overusing flake foods and the frozen water that brine or myisis shrimp come in are loaded with phosphates. On the latter, I always rinse my frozen shrimp in fresh water iinstead of just dropping the cube in the tank.

Also, look up phosphate reactor and phosban.
__________________

__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 11:14 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
sean112280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: JBLM,WA
Posts: 264
ok thanks. I use Rod's food that I heard does not have phosphates in it, but i usually take a piece of the frozen and defrost it in my RO/DI before adding it to my tank. I will try to test that water with the food in it to see if that might be where it is coming from. good idea, thanks
__________________
sean112280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 12:26 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Rinse the shrimp cube in FW, then add a little garlic guard and Zoe. Otherwise, that stuff is like eating potato chips for fish. Absolutely no dietary value.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 12:33 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
sean112280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: JBLM,WA
Posts: 264
yea I hear you on that one. So have you heard of the Rod's food having phosphates in it?
__________________
sean112280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 12:38 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Does look like it has the least amount compared to others. See this .. Food: Levels of Nitrates and Phosphates in Each | JustMyReef.com

Here are some reactors too. phosphate reactor | Marine Depot
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 12:40 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
sean112280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: JBLM,WA
Posts: 264
Thanks for your help and the links. I appreciate it.
__________________
sean112280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 02:47 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
I use Rod's Food. I also use GFO in a BRS reactor so my phosphates test below .03 using the Hanna Phosphate meter.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 04:01 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
sean112280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: JBLM,WA
Posts: 264
I am awaiting a reactor from a fellow reef buddy, probably the end of the week or so. All my other params seem to be pretty good except phosphate. So my plan is to make that reactor into a phosphate reactor. GFO is what I would need for that right?
__________________
sean112280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 04:12 PM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
You are correct. GFO, slightly tumbling in the reactor.
__________________

cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
phosphates

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phosphates..... HiJaC Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 7 08-20-2007 04:39 PM
Question on Phosphates 30searay Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 9 06-11-2007 11:21 PM
Where do phosphates come from? frostby Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 06-28-2006 11:45 PM
phosphates rbarb1111 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 11-08-2004 08:41 PM
Phosphates...again lando Saltwater Reef Aquaria 12 10-18-2004 12:04 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.