Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-01-2003, 12:24 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

Send a message via AIM to mr_tee0419
Question on Sumps

I've been reading on these things, and just read the article on this site, which was very helpful, but I still have a few questions. If you have a sump, then all of your filtration/heating will be connected to the sump instead of the aquarium right? Also, in many LFS I see their massive sump system and water being dumped onto sponges and such. There doesnt seem to be very many electrical filters running. What is neccessary for a good sump?

Old 08-01-2003, 01:48 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist

I am a newbie here but get the biggest sump that you can. If you go with the LR and DSB combo there is no need for the extra filtration ie bio balls and carbon etc.... But get a good skimmer. The heater can be placed in the sump. But this of course all depends on what you intend to keep in your tank. Someone please jump in if I am off track here.

Old 08-01-2003, 01:52 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus

Re: Question on Sumps

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_tee0419
If you have a sump, then all of your filtration/heating will be connected to the sump instead of the aquarium right?
Yes, all of your equipment can be placed in the sump to hide it. Making your display tank less cluttered and more natural looking.

Quote:
Also, in many LFS I see their massive sump system and water being dumped onto sponges and such. There doesnt seem to be very many electrical filters running. What is neccessary for a good sump?