Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-10-2012, 08:25 AM   #41
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rdnelson99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottayy View Post
Yes. Your ammonia converting bacteria colony is super high right now and your nitrite eating bacteria hasn't caught up - only building your nitrites higher.

You could do a PWC to get it down to acceptable levels so you can read on the chart.

I wouldn't do more than dosing it to 4ppm once per day.
I agree with this completely. Well, almost. I wouldn't do any water changes. Doing water changes will remove some of the nitrite which will slow the growth of the nitrite eating colony. But, dosing more than once a day will cause the nitrites to be too high and may have a negative affect. I know you want to help it move faster but by dosing more than once a day you may be slowing things down. JMO. As has been said many many times, only bad things happen quickly. Give it the time it needs.
__________________

__________________
Since my tank is a birthday present to my wife, everything I spend going forward is just an extension of my love for her right?
rdnelson99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 10:28 AM   #42
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,532
I don't do water changes during the cycle. It is hard enough sometimes getting enough water as is. I just startd cycling my 55 and not even planning on testing until a week has passed. I give it a dose of ammonia daily.
__________________

__________________
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 01:47 PM   #43
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 296
Ok so dose 4ppm once a day.

Nitrates are sky high too.

Thanks guys I'll keep everyone posted
__________________
tnice17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 01:57 PM   #44
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
AquaRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 2,638
Right. Just dose once a day for ammonia. An over-excess of ammonia can stall your cycle.
__________________
225G Reef Upgrade
AquaRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 04:52 PM   #45
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 296
That's prob where I'm at than :/

I'll post more results later
__________________
tnice17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 10:49 AM   #46
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 296
Last time I added ammonia was yesterday at 11am. Up to 3-4 ppm

Does this mean my cycle is done? I still don't get why my nitrates drop
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2448289120.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	41.1 KB
ID:	82058  
__________________
tnice17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 10:59 AM   #47
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rdnelson99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,861
Looking good. I would say yes but.....I would dose one more time today and check it again tomorrow. If you get the same results you should be good to start slowly adding livestock.
__________________
Since my tank is a birthday present to my wife, everything I spend going forward is just an extension of my love for her right?
rdnelson99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 11:05 AM   #48
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 296
Ok, one down side... :/

I'm going out of town again for the week :/

Dosing one more time is just a safe precaution right? So if I add live stock, it will be OK but it's a risk, correct?
__________________
tnice17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 12:09 PM   #49
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rdnelson99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,861
Just a double check. I would not recomend adding any livestock just before going out of town. I would wait until you return to do that. Dose the ammonia up to 4 ppm just before you leave and everything will be fine while you are gone. Then, when you return test one more time, do a nice big water change and you will be good to go.
__________________
Since my tank is a birthday present to my wife, everything I spend going forward is just an extension of my love for her right?
rdnelson99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 12:35 PM   #50
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 296
Ok sounds good. That's what I will do.

Thank you!

3-4 fish to start seems good?
__________________

__________________
tnice17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, fishless, fishless cycle

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fishless Cycle Complete! AlanofSmith Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 02-10-2012 12:07 PM
A newbie 60L 'FISHLESS CYCLE LOG' jts123 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 48 01-05-2012 01:40 PM
If you are doing a fishless cycle or giving advice to others...please read this: eco23 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 31 08-10-2011 11:57 PM
Fish-in or Fishless cycle? Aqua315 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 12 07-11-2011 02:35 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.