Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-15-2009, 01:43 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 625
Send a message via AIM to match55 Send a message via MSN to match55 Send a message via Yahoo to match55
as I said I m not really good at constructing the pipes, and none of my friends r good at that, thats why I m thinking to go for flex tubes XP, maybe I can try~
__________________

__________________
match55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 01:46 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
partypalooza5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to partypalooza5 Send a message via Yahoo to partypalooza5
PVC is sooo easy to work with! You can cut it with like almost any saw and its easy to glue. If you've never worked with it, it can seem hard at first but once you get it all done youll be like "wow that was easy!"
__________________

__________________
75G FOWLR Build

partypalooza5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 01:46 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 625
Send a message via AIM to match55 Send a message via MSN to match55 Send a message via Yahoo to match55
Quote:
Originally Posted by partypalooza5 View Post
CPR is like "high quality" but honestly, eshopps won't loose prime if you have a good flow rate.
if I get a eshopps, should I get a 800gph then? but will that too much for my 46gal tank LOL?
eshopps is like way cheaper OoO 800gph is like half of the price of a 300gph CPR ~ROLF~
__________________
match55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 01:46 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Etunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,162
tagging along
__________________
Etunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 01:48 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
partypalooza5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to partypalooza5 Send a message via Yahoo to partypalooza5
Quote:
Originally Posted by match55 View Post
if I get a eshopps, should I get a 800gph then? but will that too much for my 46gal tank LOL?
eshopps is like way cheaper OoO 800gph is like half of the price of a 300gph CPR ~ROLF~
I got the 800gph model and i love it. my tanks 75G and i kind of think it may be too little. I say go for 800gph. You can get a via aqua 2300 and it provides pretty good flow. (thats how mines set up and it works great!)
__________________
75G FOWLR Build

partypalooza5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 01:48 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 625
Send a message via AIM to match55 Send a message via MSN to match55 Send a message via Yahoo to match55
Quote:
Originally Posted by partypalooza5 View Post
PVC is sooo easy to work with! You can cut it with like almost any saw and its easy to glue. If you've never worked with it, it can seem hard at first but once you get it all done youll be like "wow that was easy!"
I used PVC to higher up my life rock above the sand LOL, is that count~ haha
I think I will try~
__________________
match55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 01:50 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 625
Send a message via AIM to match55 Send a message via MSN to match55 Send a message via Yahoo to match55
Quote:
Originally Posted by partypalooza5 View Post
I got the 800gph model and i love it. my tanks 75G and i kind of think it may be too little. I say go for 800gph. You can get a via aqua 2300 and it provides pretty good flow. (thats how mines set up and it works great!)
via aqua 2300 only have 600gph, should I get a higher one if I m going for 800gph eshopps?
__________________
match55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 01:50 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
partypalooza5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to partypalooza5 Send a message via Yahoo to partypalooza5
xD good luck! if you need help I'm pretty sure anyone here can help.
__________________
75G FOWLR Build

partypalooza5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 01:50 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Charlton, MA
Posts: 544
You dont need to use all 800GPH of it. It will only go as fast as it gets water. The part in the tank is where water is taken in. When the pump moves faster the water level is higher and thus more water in the tank filling the overflow box. The siphon goes faster due to a higher supply and it equalizes.

And SPS is Small Polyp Stony "Coral". Its the type that needs alot of light compared to other types of corals.
This is a picture of acropora.

Pvc is very simple to use. Simple measure about the distance form the overflow down to the sump, then cut. Measure again, cut, glue and tada.

If you run all 800 GPH that will be alot in my opinion. Unless you want to do a tank full of sps, then run it lower GPH and have 2 or 3 powerheads, a few to keep the top level high flowing.
__________________
AMDPhenomX4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 01:50 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
partypalooza5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to partypalooza5 Send a message via Yahoo to partypalooza5
Quote:
Originally Posted by match55 View Post
via aqua 2300 only have 600gph, should I get a higher one if I m going for 800gph eshopps?
It is?? O_O I thought it was 700! lol well if you can find one thats like 700gph or a little more youll be good
__________________

__________________
75G FOWLR Build

partypalooza5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
light, pumps, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
light in sump badamsios General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 19 12-26-2009 02:02 AM
Light source required for sump ? roger Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 04-20-2006 03:33 AM
Pro Clear Sump - How to put heater in sump & Questions.. TheChad Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 04-14-2006 07:39 PM
Is this enough light for my sump/fudge sango General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 01-29-2006 11:42 PM
Does in sump LR need light? swissfish Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 13 12-29-2004 12:41 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.