Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-01-2003, 02:55 PM   #1
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
quick setup question

We have a 75 gal and a Amiracle wet/dry setup. The tank is drilled in the bottom and I have the hoses connected. I want to get water in it to test the pumps. Do I have to fill it all the way up for the overflow to work properly?
__________________

__________________
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2003, 03:09 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Beacon, New York
Posts: 1,386
Place the hose from the return pump into the overflow box, so it will fill up just the overflow chamber.
__________________

__________________
stresco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2003, 03:15 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
good idea

Unfortunately, I don't have enough hose for that. I have 2 short pieces since the holes in the tank are on the bottom and the filter is in the stand.

The Amiracle filter we have cam with an HO overflow be we are not using it. The instructions just show the flexible hose from the filter plugging into the bottom of the overflow. Nothing holds this on. Is this normal?

I ended up using clear tubing, barb fitting and clamps for my setup.
__________________
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2003, 04:30 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Well i guess you could just try a friction connection but I would never trust it. On the one overflow from amricale that I setup i glued the flex hose to the bottom of the overflow.

If you cant plumb your return lines directly into your corner overflows you really wont be able to test the overflows unless you fill them with water from the tank.

What exactly do you want to test? If they will hold water with out leaking? If the pump will push water up to the tank? If the overflows will keep up with the pump?
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2003, 05:34 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
Quote:
What exactly do you want to test? If they will hold water with out leaking? If the pump will push water up to the tank? If the overflows will keep up with the pump?
Really all the above. First time for this type of setup. Anyway, I got the water in and the pump is running. Water level in the filter is staying constant and there is room in the filter to contain the water if the pump is shut down ... I tried that.

I guess I am happy it is all working. I think I will sit something under the main pump to quit the little vibration sound I am getting.

Now I have to get everything else in and let it cycle.

Still have not decided on my LR/LS dilemma. Not sure what we will do on that ...
__________________
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ick, setup

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
quick questions for a new setup minghi Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 14 01-20-2010 07:27 PM
My crayfish tank setup. (HELP QUICK) fishlover9000 Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding 35 04-19-2009 05:54 PM
Quick question about my tanks setup chinoanoah Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 03-03-2007 08:46 PM
Quick Setup/skimmer question? FloridaNewbie Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 2 11-18-2006 03:53 PM
Quick setup/LR adding Questions Banik Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 11-10-2004 08:28 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.