Raising a lobster

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

peekingbear

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello ~
I am a jewellery designer and wanted to make something based on the exoskeleton of the lobster ~

In order the accurately portray their anatomy, I was thinking about buying a live lobster from the supermarket and holding onto him while I study their movements and bodies, but I'm not sure how I should house him during that time ..

I'm still a full time student so I'm assuming this project may continue for a decent amount of time-- at least over a month-- as I can't dedicate all my time to working on it. I've been thinking about what to do with him afterwards as well :/ after watching him for months I can't possibly throw him to the pot and eat him afterwards, but I don't really have the capacity [or permission, since I live at home] to keep him.

So I have two issues;
how to house him [ie. how big of a tank should I get him, is a large rubbermaid ok, feeding, temperature, what kind of saltwater, etc]

what to do after [???????? like I have pet turtles but I don't think I should throw him in with them cos they'll fight? and I love my turtles more than I love him so I can't do that, anything? I really don't want to buy him without a plan for after]

I know this is an aquarium forum so a lot of you will probably definitely oppose eating him after, or even buying him for the sake of study [?] but I really do want to execute this project as anatomically accurate as possible :/
Thank you for reading ! any suggestions, ideas, criticisms, feel free to throw them at me ~

Hello,