Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-14-2007, 11:47 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by severum mama
...
I didn't have that result w/ flake food in my pico, so I used nls thera a large pellets. That worked, but it was a pain to vac out of the tank, post-cycle.
Wait until you try to fish that piece of shrimp out! It may look solid, but just be warned that it's anything but!

But I agree with ya... I've cycled my QT with both shrimp and food. Even with the disintegrating shrimp, it was still cleaner in the end.
__________________

__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 01:23 AM   #12
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
THe ammonia would work and is cleaner. quite a few locals do it that way.
__________________

__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 09:16 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
severum mama's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 10,297
Quote:
Wait until you try to fish that piece of shrimp out! It may look solid, but just be warned that it's anything but!
I assumed... that's why I stuck it in a (new) knee high pantyhose, and tied a knot in it! I stuck the end of the pantyhose under the mounting leg for my light, so it's just kinda dangling in the tank. I won't even have to get my hand wet when I pull it out.
severum mama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 11:13 AM   #14
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellisz
THe ammonia would work and is cleaner. quite a few locals do it that way.
I agree it would be cleaner. Now I am curious for future reference, how much ammonia per gallon do they use?
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia, cycle, rim, shrimp

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't Start a Cycle....Even With Raw Shrimp jonboyb Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 09-08-2008 12:39 PM
Raw Shrimp madstyle1 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 18 02-08-2008 07:36 PM
raw shrimp to cycle tank produces anaerobic bacteria = bad ? napydred Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 07-21-2006 11:14 PM
Day 2 of cycle with one raw shrimp... Good Crab Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 26 03-08-2006 01:14 PM
using raw shrimp to cycle summitxho Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 12-17-2005 02:12 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.