Real newbie here

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Pennymom38

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi. My grandson has a 29g Nano Cube reef which just fascinated me so for my birthday just recently the family got together and got me a 14g Nano Cube DX. With my grandson's help it has been stocked with live sand, live rocks and salt water from one of our local vendors. This was done May 7th of this year. It is sitting there, nice and clear, and I plan to take water to our other local vendor for testing and tons of questions. That's about all I can tell you right now but I'm sure I'll be reading lots from this forum and asking questions. Love the forum so far. I live in South Florida on the east coast. Thanks. Ann

Thanks. I thought so. I even got money for fish, etc. Now I just need knowledge which I expect to get here.

Oh yes, do you have any questions that you want to ask? Or is there anything your unsure about? Stocking, etc?

Welcome I live in north palm beach county. We're are you? There are some good lfs in this area if your local I'll let you know.

Thanks for the welcome and YES I have questions. BTW, I live in Stuart. Tank is cycling just fine and I am surprising myself with my patience. Need a hood which I can get online for $139 next month unless I decide to go with something else, like egg crate and a light. Which would be best? I've been all over this fantastic forum, following new set-up post questions and answers.

At this point, I am really interested in a macroalgae tank with some inverts and maybe one fish. 14 gal is pretty small and, yes, I'm already looking at bigger but not until I get this one under my belt satisfactorily. How does that sound?

Sounds good! And at least you live in Florida here there is plenty of fish stores. I live in NC, my nearest so called "petstore" is 40 mins away.