really high ammo while cycling ...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

twoodrough

Aquarium Advice Freak
I am cycling a 10 gallon FO using one cooked cocktail shrimp. It has been one week since adding the shrimp and ammo is off the chart over 8. Should I just let it go and work itself out or should I do a PWC to get it down some? My plan is just to let it go but thought I would check here. (I do have about 2 lbs Gulf rock that I picked up on the beach a month ago, not sure if that really affects anything.)

I have fishless cycled tanks with liquid ammonia where I am able to control the amount going in and the resulting levels, but this is my first time with shrimp where it just does its own thing and I am along for the ride.

thats whats supposed to happen, the shrimp is supposed to decompose into ammonia, then barteria begins to build that will break the ammonia down into nitrite and then finally the less harmful nitrate

I recommend 1.5 to 2lbs of live rock per gallon and I think you should be patient and just wait it out, you're tank is go'n through it's cycle. Good luck

I understand that is what it is supposed to do...I just thought 8 on the API test was really high. I don't want to kill off the bacteria I am trying to grow! I will wait it out and test again next week. Hopefully by then I will be seeing some nitrites.

Levels over 8ppm of ammonia will kill off your bacteria, if you have any remaining as of now. Do a water change and try to get it down to 4ppm. Adding rock that you find on/near the beach is a bad idea since you don't know what pollutants and/or hitchhikers are in/on it.

i would understand if there was any bacteria to kill off but in the ammonia stages what bacteria is there to kill? i've always read leave it the more you chaneg the water the slower the whole process will be.