Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-19-2003, 10:48 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to magyk
Reef help with 75 Gallon

Here is what is happening

Have 75 Gallon fish only

Decided to turn it into a reef about a month ago, problem is I've used coppersafe to treat some sick fish before

I've been told that I'm going to have to get a whole new system, by alot of people however some suggested getting Seachem Cuprisorb which I did purchase.

I can't afford a whole new system and someone out their must have been in the same position I'm in.

Had water tested for copper an there is .02 amounts which is minimal I haven't done any water changes yet or put the seachem in yet so whatever advice would be helpful

Any Advice
__________________

__________________
75 Gallon
Prizim
2 Eheim 2217
magyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2003, 11:02 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Quote:
Had water tested for copper an there is .02 amounts which is minimal I haven't done any water changes yet or put the seachem in yet so whatever advice would be helpful
But still toxic to the sensitive invertrabits found in reef tanks.

I have heard that there is a phosphate sponge that will also absorb copper but i cant recall the name of it off the top of my head.

Water changes will help in the short run but depending on what kind of substrate and other items you have in your tank you may suffer from copper leaching back into the water from the substrate or even the silicon seals.

Have you changed out your filter media since you used the coppersafe? If not then you should do that aswell.

Since testing for copper is going to be something your gonna do often I would invest in a copper test kit. Seachem has a very easy and affordable copper test kit.
__________________

__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2003, 11:08 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to magyk
The big question will I be able to establish a reef tank though most likely in July?
__________________
75 Gallon
Prizim
2 Eheim 2217
magyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2003, 12:31 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Well I hope you dont have some kind of deadline you have to adhear to inorder to have a reef by July.

The reason I say this is you dont want to push (rush) your tank back into shape so it can support corals and other inverts. If your diligent in trying to rid your tank of the carbon thru use of activated carbon (changing it out often), doing frequent water changes to help dilute what carbon remains in the water, etc then you should be in good shape at some point.

Will that be in July. I dontknow. ONly your tank knows and regretfully it does not speak. The only way to know for sure is to keep checking copper levels and hopefully watch them drop off till they are nearly nonexistant.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2003, 01:03 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to magyk
I will be doing frequent water changes and possibly changing either the sandbed or the 80lbs of lace rock
__________________
75 Gallon
Prizim
2 Eheim 2217
magyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2003, 05:48 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Quote:
Had water tested for copper an there is .02
How was the water tested? Coppersafe is a chelated copper, and must be tested with a chelated copper test kit. The real question is...since coppersafe is a bound copper, what is the bioavailability of the copper. To find that out, you have to test with the proper kit.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2003, 06:11 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to magyk
I know what chelated means but why would it matter
and do you know if it would effect the tank directly
__________________
75 Gallon
Prizim
2 Eheim 2217
magyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2003, 06:27 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
It matters because a non-chelated copper testkit will not measure the amount of copper in the system. IME, a reading of .02 will actually be alot higher. This is one of the reasons why you can judge the bioavailability of the CU. A non-chelated kit test for free copper, where a chelated kit will test for total copper. The copper is bound to an organic this reduces the toxicity of the med considerably. I am curious, what are you wanting to use from the current set up in the reef set up, You said it was a FO tank. Any LR? Or just plain decorations? I personally believe that if you change the substrate (do not use the LR) and do a 100% waterchange, you'll be fine. If you have LR in the tank and you need to use that....I do not think it will be safe. In essence, I need more info on your system before I can offer any more advice.
__________________

__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
5 gallon, 75 gallon, reef

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10 gallon reef? matt1245 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 07-09-2009 10:43 PM
my 75 gallon reef slush Members Saltwater Tanks Showcase 44 07-25-2008 01:54 AM
10 gallon reef? black hills tj Nano Reefs 2 09-04-2007 10:40 AM
DIY 5 gallon refugium for 20 gallon reef- need help Lance M. DIY Projects 4 01-04-2007 12:06 AM
Anyone have a 29 gallon reef? New2Salt Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 02-14-2003 11:31 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.