Reef or Saltwater-- what's the difference? & Seahorses

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BettaLisa

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Okay, as you can see, I am totally new to saltwater. I plan on having Dwarf Seahorses & want to set up a "mini" species tank. I have a 3g Eclipse system that I plan on converting to saltwater for the horses. Now, anyone have experience w/dwarfs? What is the difference between "reef" and just a saltwater setup? What's the best for horses? Any good, cheap suppliers of live rock you can recommend? Also, any advice on live-feeding would also be appreciated.

AND, I know they are difficult & sensitive. I've done my research & decided to do it. Thanks!!!

:D :?:

All i can say is good luck :) for 1. seahorses have to be hand fed and usually other fish will get to the food before them since the horses are slow. Problem 2. i foresee, is the fact that its a 3 gallon. When you wana cycle that small of a tank be ready for daily water changes. A small increase or decrease in a tank that small can be disasterous.

A reef is one that uses a dsb and lr for filtration. Some people say a saltwater and mean a reef, or some say it and mean just fish only. Really depends on the context of how its used. For live rock there are many suppliers and sponsors here on this forum and other places. Liveaquaria.com is good.

I have done research & plan to live/hand feed my horses. I also plan on buying captive-bred because they will be used to feeding & aquarium life. The reason for the small tank is that the Dwarfs do better in 5g or less because the food-concentration is higher and I am having nothing else in with them but live rock, plants & snails.

I am planning on cycling with the rock until the water is stable & then adding the horses. Any other advice is MUCH appreciated!!