Reef setup for a Clown Fish environment

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Smidge

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi Guys,

I've been keeping fish for many years but they've always been FW. I've had tons of great advice from this site and you fab guys on this forum but unfortunately i'm dipping the bucket into the well of knowledge once more. Please feel free to point me in another direction if you like but your help will be greatly appreciated.

As i said, i've been keeping tropical freshwater fish for many years with lots of success so i have a handle on that. I'd really like to set up a reef tank that could house some clown fish and maybe some other very colourful sw fish too! My little boy (2 years old) loves Finding Nemo so i'd really like to do this for him. It gives me an opportunity to take the plunge into SW too, as i've flirted with the idea for years...

I know that there are a lot of new things i need to bear in mind when starting this but i was wondering if you would be able to give me your pearls of wisdom for setting this up? I'm thinking about 55 gallon.

Thanks you guys...

Smidge

Welcome to the SW side. We will help you out just post any questions and we will help out. Clown fish are an excellent addition to the SW tank.

Wow...I could spend hours typing a response, but instead I urge you to check out the links provided to get started. A 55gal is a wonderful size for your first SW tank, the bigger the better in terms of water parameter stability and a 55 is great. Next step should be to decide what type of tank you want eventually...FOWLR or reef. That will effect some of the decision making process now. Keep reading and keep asking questions!

Welcome to the wonderful (and expensive) world of SW!!! :p

Right well my first question would be "what's the difference between FOWLR and Reef?"