Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 04-27-2010, 11:54 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Reef with No fish ok??

I am new and want to start a reef tank. trouble is that I travel for a living and am gone 4 nights a week.

I was thinking that I could do coral only so that I don't starve the fish when I am away.

Will this work? Also if I use live rock, will the coral produce enough waste to keep the live rock / sand live and happy?

Thanks
Juan

Old 04-28-2010, 02:56 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

The problem with being gone for so long is that if something dies and you arent there to remove it, it will rot and could cause your system to crash.

You could have a coral only tank and be just fine as long as you keep your lights on a timer. Its possible you could get away with some fish too, although eating once every four days would piss them off. They make automatic fish feeders, but if your more interested in coral, then fish would make for a really unnecesary challenge.

I would be more worried about my tank spilling or something and not being around to do anything. Another issue would be water evaporation. You can bet that will present a challenge trying to top off the water. If you dont, and too much water evaporates, then your salinity will rise and could anger your tank.

Matt

Old 04-28-2010, 03:05 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

It's quite possible. You'll have to feed your corals a little though. And have good lights and an auto-top off system.

Follow my 6G Pico build!
Mitchell0605 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 03:07 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

If you have a sump you could rig a float switch to drip FW into the tank as the water level drops. That would help with the water level.
Greenmaster is offline   Reply With Quote