Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-29-2004, 11:48 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to jester Send a message via Yahoo to jester
Refugium idea

ok I want to make a small reugium for the hope of getting a mandrain I have a 60g tank with plenty of copods but to make sure there is enough I want a refugium I want to use a acrylic box 9in across 8 in long and 15 inches high this is all that will fit under my tank but it will be like 5 feet from my sump I was wondering if 2 powerheads would work to transfer water from refugium to sump thanks let me know if im crazy or not or any other ideas thanks Jester
__________________

__________________
my tank for now is a 60g with a little live sand and then just play sand I got 80 pounds of live rock now I have a wet dry with no bio balls and a protein skimmer and uv steralizer I have power compacts 260 watts I have 1 damsels 1yellow tang 1 flame angel one yellow strip maroon clownfishand and a feather duster and a bulb anemones that the clown lives in and colony polops and some kenya tree corals and 2 fire shrimp snails and hermit crabs and some other crabs

i just got a 40g with like 6 inches of live sand and it is loaded with corals and inverts it was given to me by a friend she had it for 3 years there is a brain coral wellsophyllia and a platygyra brain worm coral green striped mushrooms and red mushrooms yellow colony polyp and button polyp and some type of hard coral not sure what it is also alot of kenya tree oh ya and 2 giant star fish
jester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 12:04 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
I have my rufugium elevated beside my sump and only need 1 PH to pump water up to the fuge. It gravity feeds back into the sump.
__________________

__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 12:19 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to jester Send a message via Yahoo to jester
i have no room to do that but thanks because of exsisting plumbing
__________________
my tank for now is a 60g with a little live sand and then just play sand I got 80 pounds of live rock now I have a wet dry with no bio balls and a protein skimmer and uv steralizer I have power compacts 260 watts I have 1 damsels 1yellow tang 1 flame angel one yellow strip maroon clownfishand and a feather duster and a bulb anemones that the clown lives in and colony polops and some kenya tree corals and 2 fire shrimp snails and hermit crabs and some other crabs

i just got a 40g with like 6 inches of live sand and it is loaded with corals and inverts it was given to me by a friend she had it for 3 years there is a brain coral wellsophyllia and a platygyra brain worm coral green striped mushrooms and red mushrooms yellow colony polyp and button polyp and some type of hard coral not sure what it is also alot of kenya tree oh ya and 2 giant star fish
jester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 12:59 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
SO you are wanting to use 1 PH in the sump and 1 in the fugeto cycle the water? Would work as long as they had the same gph but I normally read that it is an accident waiting to happen. I have never tried it either BTW.

If 1 pumps starts out doing the other, you will end up with a wet mess.
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 03:22 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
Using 2 PH is not the best way to do that for reasons stated. gravity is the prefered method. Going through a lot of PH will kill alot of the pods.
Any way you can tap into the return to the tank for the water? You only need a low flow of water for a fuge.
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 10:58 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
Using two pumps is a recipe for disaster. It will get out of balance eventually and make a mess...no way around it. You really need to come up with a way to let the fuge drain back into the sump. If you could set it up to drain into the main tank, that would be even better. Can you modify it to hang on the back of the tank like the CPR models? Another option would be to have a SMALL powerhead in the fuge and run a U tube siphon to the sump. Get a siphon started and the water levels will equalize. As the PH pumps water out of the fuge, water will flow back in as the siphon tries to equalize the levels. Place the PH high enough in the fuge so that, if the siphon is lost, you won't completely drain the fuge. Also, make sure the sump will hold, in addition to the water that will drain down from the main tank if the main pump quits, the extra water from the fuge if the siphon is lost (not likely, but possible). JMHO.
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 11:38 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to jester Send a message via Yahoo to jester
im screwed u guys are losing me maybee i will just run a pipe about 5 feet that should work where should this pipe go hight wise like at the top of the fug and the top of the sump or what ?
__________________
my tank for now is a 60g with a little live sand and then just play sand I got 80 pounds of live rock now I have a wet dry with no bio balls and a protein skimmer and uv steralizer I have power compacts 260 watts I have 1 damsels 1yellow tang 1 flame angel one yellow strip maroon clownfishand and a feather duster and a bulb anemones that the clown lives in and colony polops and some kenya tree corals and 2 fire shrimp snails and hermit crabs and some other crabs

i just got a 40g with like 6 inches of live sand and it is loaded with corals and inverts it was given to me by a friend she had it for 3 years there is a brain coral wellsophyllia and a platygyra brain worm coral green striped mushrooms and red mushrooms yellow colony polyp and button polyp and some type of hard coral not sure what it is also alot of kenya tree oh ya and 2 giant star fish
jester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 11:43 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 248
Send a message via AIM to JohnNLuc
Hate to jump in and make things more complicated and correct me if im wrong but I was under the impression having both a sump and a fuge really canceled eachother out?
JohnNLuc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 11:57 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
fireman26m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rineyville, Ky
Posts: 256
A sump is for increased water volume and a place to put your skimmer, heater etc. A fuge is for providing a "safe" area for pods to live/grow/multiply and also for plants for nitrate reduction.
__________________
fireman26m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2004, 10:38 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
A fuge is a big help in any setup and is no way canceled out by the sump.
__________________

__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
refugium

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zoanthid on back glass... Good Idea? Bad Idea? Kurt_Nelson Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 07-09-2008 12:11 AM
co2 diffuser on timer. (good idea/bad idea?) kangarooooooooo Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 01-09-2008 11:44 PM
considering adding apistos: good idea or bad idea? SeymourFRESH Cichlid Discussion 17 11-06-2006 09:49 PM
refugium cheater idea supermarvin76 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 03-09-2005 08:17 PM
Refugium Idea, What do you think. stresco Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 11 07-11-2003 11:47 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.