Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-04-2013, 09:30 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Refugium questions...

I have a 40 breeder that I would like to do a HOB fuge, as it isn't drilled. I am considering doing an AquaClear 110 mod, and am wondering what the smallest impeller would be I could put in it to lessen the flow. Would the AC50 impeller work?

Also toying with the idea of a Reef Octo HOB fuge, HOWEVER, the pump that would go in the tank is almost 5"x3"x3", which is why I'm considering doing the AC mod.
__________________

__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 10:00 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
why not drill the tank? yes it sounds dangerous but its really not bad at all
__________________

__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 10:05 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by huma-huma View Post
why not drill the tank? yes it sounds dangerous but its really not bad at all
Long story, but this ones not getting drilled lol.
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 10:25 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dragonfisher33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,963
a lot of times the tank is made out of tempered glass and it's clearly indicated not to drill.
__________________
dragonfisher33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 10:25 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dragonfisher33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,963
to answer the original question, yes it will work with a AC50 impeller
__________________
dragonfisher33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 10:26 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Drilling is not an option, I appreciate the comments. I'm just wondering about the fuge please, any help is great.
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 10:31 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by huizheng1988 View Post
to answer the original question, yes it will work with a AC50 impeller
Thank you... I know that the 110 uses a different motor than the 30/50/70, wanted to make sure the impeller would work.
__________________

__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.