Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-17-2016, 04:19 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
evil_ryu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: 907 ak
Posts: 17
Reinforce bracket

So I was gifted with a free 125g tank that I want to go sumpless. Ya I know its a must to go with a sump but 1. I don't want to deal with the plumbing and 2. Wife is going to hate the noise. So I was planning on getting a reef octopus BH 1000 or 90 not sure which route I want to go and then get hob phosphate reactor. My only gripe is the tank had these I'm guessing reinforcement on it. Am I going to have to mod these HOB that I want to get or you think it would have enough clearance.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20160310_203506.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	113.6 KB
ID:	285583  
__________________

__________________
55g tank school of guppies
75g tilapia cichlids and an Oscar

125g saltwater in the works
evil_ryu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 03:51 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
evil_ryu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: 907 ak
Posts: 17
Maybe shave it down to make the HOB to fit?
__________________

__________________
55g tank school of guppies
75g tilapia cichlids and an Oscar

125g saltwater in the works
evil_ryu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 04:33 AM   #3
AA Member
Community Moderator
 
Delapool's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 13,552
Is that the glass strips on either side for the cover rests?
__________________
Delapool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 05:28 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Beej1254's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 613
Do a search in the Internet for euro braced aquariums and tell us if that's what your tank is. It's hard to tell from the picture you posted but I'm going to guess it is. In that style of bracing it's not easy if at all possible to find hang on equipment to use. I wouldn't modify the rim of your tank at all to fit your equipment unless you are going to completely redo the bracing to another style. If you have a euro style bracing then this is keeping your tank from falling apart. You won't want to modify it unless you are replacing it.

I think in this type of tank it's almost necessary to have a sump or canister filter. If you are doing a saltwater tank id go with a DIY sump to hold your equipment for the easiest route.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Beej1254 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 03:48 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
evil_ryu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: 907 ak
Posts: 17
Here are some other pictures I took, from what I can tell it looks like the previous owner put those black pieces over the brace so I think it is an eurobraced
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20160323_074453.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	90.0 KB
ID:	285711   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160323_074457.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	107.7 KB
ID:	285712  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20160323_074505.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	119.9 KB
ID:	285713   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160323_074509.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	124.6 KB
ID:	285714  

__________________
55g tank school of guppies
75g tilapia cichlids and an Oscar

125g saltwater in the works
evil_ryu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2016, 05:39 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
evil_ryu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: 907 ak
Posts: 17
Do you think a 20g long to small for a sump??
__________________
55g tank school of guppies
75g tilapia cichlids and an Oscar

125g saltwater in the works
evil_ryu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2016, 12:27 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Brennan32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by evil_ryu View Post
Do u think a 20g long to small for a sump??

I have only a 30 gallon sump on my 155 and it works fine.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Brennan32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2016, 11:43 AM   #8
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,543
Quote:
Originally Posted by evil_ryu View Post
Do u think a 20g long to small for a sump??
That is the exact tank I use for my sump. It is a great starter size.
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to reinforce a floor Matt4 DIY Projects 7 06-20-2014 05:44 PM
Do I need to reinforce the stand and floor? whiteclouds General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 11-26-2012 06:25 PM
How to reinforce floor for a 210g aquarium?? secuono DIY Projects 20 08-16-2011 11:08 AM
Do i really need to reinforce my stand? Oscarr19 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 07-13-2011 09:29 PM
Should I reinforce my floor joists for a 180 gal tank? PaulPaul Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 09-25-2005 12:29 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.