Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-17-2005, 06:31 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 39
Restart Break trew period???

Hello everyone, I have a question for you guys...

I have a 35 gallons, reef tank. No fish in it but alot of live rock.

These few month I wasnt there to keep in good state my aquarium, so it happens that the salinity dropped to 1.014 for a farely long period (2 month).

The quality of the water is good, but I was asking myself if I should consider redoing an other Break trew period since the salinity was incredibily low (Did this low salinity killed the good bacteria????)

I want to push in a fish... That is why I wanna know... (Obviously, now that I am back, the salinity is perfercty back to the normal)

What do I do? Personnaly I woulndt wait no more to put a fish, but if you guys think that the good bacteria are gone than I would wait. ??
__________________

__________________
canada911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2005, 09:26 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Athens, TN.
Posts: 3,598
Welcome to AA. I believe sg has to drop closer to 1.009 before the good stuff starts dying off. You shoudl be fine but I would check the water very closley after adding your fish.
__________________

__________________
Gerald

Vote for AquariumAdvice
dralarms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2005, 10:25 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
The bacteria on the rock should be fine. I would just start doing top-offs with aged SW unitl you get back up to your desired SG. Might want to hold off on fish until you get things back in order.
Welcome to AquariumAdvice.com!!!
__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 09:38 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 39
Thanks alot guys!

BTW, this forum seems prettty cool!
__________________
-33G reef tank
-1x 30W PowerGlow, 1x 30W Marine Glow PC
-4" Chili Coral
-12 Turbo snails
-SeaClone Modified
-3 MaxiJet
-SG 1.025; Temp: 80F
canada911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 12:39 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 39
oups... I just did water test, My last message was stating that the water quality was perfect but infact I only tested it a couple of minutes ago I said that because it was OK 2 month ago during my last water test and that since that day I didnt putted nothing in the aquarium (there is only live rocks)... I mistaken, there is a problem I think:

-Salinity is now 1.025
-PH = 8.1
-phosphate = 0
-No2 = 0ppm
-No3 = 0 ppm
-Ammonia = 0.6 mg/L

The aquarium is 4 years old and I god a protein skimmer and alot of live rocks. I never saw any trace of ammonia in this aquarium befor today!
How come there is some NH3 even if I have no fish in it??? I have to mentione that I had algae problem last 2 month.
Where does that ammonia coming from? and how come there is no No2 and No3? (Is it because my skimmer takes the No out?) Or meaby the cycle is all *****d up??

I had a gobby that died (I guess) 3 month ago, he misteriously disapeared from the tank... Meaby that is the source of the ammonia? (bet even after 3 months??)

I first tought my tester was wrong, so I tested with fresh water and it notices no ammonia. So I guess the reading are good.

I would greatly appreciate your advice!
__________________
canada911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 12:51 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
the ammonia could be coming from life on the rock. Just do some water changes and keep testing.
__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2005, 12:46 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 39
Ok, since I had a bit of ammoniac and NO nitrate and nitrite I tought that meaby my bacterial cycle was dead. So I putted some "Cycle" product from nutrafin in the aquarium yesterday, and I stoped the skimmer and filter to allow the spores to grow and open. Today (24H after) I looked at the water, it was like a bit white... I restarted the skimmer and filter and waited an hour to test again the water and here is the results:

-the ammoniac seems to be at the same level (meaby a bit lower)
-BUT: the Nitrate and nitrite has Jupped at higher Level!!!

So know I have plenty of nitrite and nitrate... whats the deal?? Is it effectivly because of the bacteries of the "cycle" that I putted yesterday that is restarting the nitrification of my aquarium?? Its the first time since a couple of years that I have nitrite and nitrate in this aquarium...

Can I assume that all the bacterial flore was dead and that since yesterday I restarted all the cycle??
__________________
canada911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2005, 11:27 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Northern Va
Posts: 478
I'd also like to know if Nutrafin Cycle works. ????
__________________
TygGer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2005, 11:48 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Athens, TN.
Posts: 3,598
In a word, NO.
__________________
Gerald

Vote for AquariumAdvice
dralarms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2005, 08:40 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
Quote:
I'd also like to know if Nutrafin Cycle works. ????
Don't waste your money. Spend it on some LR
__________________

__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rio

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RO unit break-in period emorrison33 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 02-21-2006 11:47 AM
AquaC Remora Pro break in period? copi Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 02-28-2005 12:02 AM
How do you do your Break-in Period for New Tank Setup? Paulo Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 12-14-2004 06:21 PM
Euro Reef Break In Period rayrwc Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 10-26-2004 11:55 AM
Skimmer "break-in period" loganizzi Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 04-22-2003 11:21 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.