Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-04-2012, 09:22 PM   #1
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,550
Return pump/overflow questions

Ok, so before I get everything up and running with my 55 gal there are some def upgrades that I need to make. One of which is my return pump. I'm running a crappy Rio w/ 500 gph.

This is my overflow box. Amazon.com: CPR Aquatics CS50 Siphon Overflow: Pet Supplies
It is rated at 300 gph.

My question is, how much stronger of a pump could/should I use? Right now with the Rio, most of the waterflow from the tank is being supplied by the aqualifter...it is far from a "waterfall" of water. More like a slow trickle.

I am also ordering a Dual BRS Reactor with MJ1200 Pump. I have no clue how I am going to get all of this stuff together at this time... I am a plumbing retard. To demonstrate what I think it should look like, I have utilized the technological magic of MS Paint. Enjoy.
__________________

__________________
Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 09:26 PM   #2
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,550
Be amazed!

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120404_202608.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	56.4 KB
ID:	86846
__________________

Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 09:30 PM   #3
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
There's a calculator on reef central that calculates head height. I'd look at something like a mag 5, which would probably put you about where you want to be with flow at head height. Also plan on putting a ball valve above the pump so that you can always control how much low there is.
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 09:37 PM   #4
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,550
Yeah, I was looking at the mag 5 and it appears to work out in the calculator. Think it will be ok with the dual reactor plumbed directly into everything?
__________________
Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 09:40 PM   #5
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
I would get a 7 and run a tee off of it with a ball valve on each side of the tee... run the reactor separately, so that you can tune the flow but not restrict the turnover rate of the tank
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 09:51 PM   #6
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,550
I like that idea.
__________________
Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 10:57 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Reef79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Virginia il
Posts: 205
I'm running a danner mag 7 on my 55 with no restrictions now wish I had went with. An 8 it would be more flow at the far end which I had to run additional powerhead to make sure there were no dead flow zones
__________________
Reef79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 11:06 PM   #8
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,550
I'm not worried about flow in my tank. I have 2 750s, a 1250, and a 550. I'll figure out the right amount for in the tank when it is done cycling, until then the larger will keep the water moving and the other 3 will stay in my 36.
__________________

__________________
Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, overflow, pump, return pump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
150 gallon reef tank and LED lighting questions =) Baroose General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 04-04-2012 01:11 PM
Protein skimmer or adding a bigger pump? brad.s1989 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 0 04-04-2012 05:05 AM
air pump for cichlids? nicosia31 Cichlid Discussion 5 04-04-2012 03:14 AM
Questions mid cycle techo Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 04-04-2012 01:07 AM
Couple of questions and stocking for a 30gal. oakleyguy89 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 11 04-03-2012 10:35 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.