Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-23-2003, 01:39 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 25
Reverse Osmosis

How important is a RO setup for saltwater? I have been reading alot of people use them. Thanks...
__________________

__________________
Goldie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2003, 02:31 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Depending on the quality of your tap water it could be extremly important to somewhat important to just something to help impove overall water quality.

The RO unit wil provide you with almost pure clean water to start as a foundation of your tank. Using RO water for topoffs and for water changes (plus saltmix) will help keep external polutants that might be found in your tap water from entering into and collecting in your system.

I have found I get less algae growth when using RO water vs tap water.
__________________

__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2003, 04:36 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 25
Thanks for the reply. The reason I ask is I have noticed the RO units are fairly expensive and I cant afford one right now and probably for a while. I was trying to find justification for buying one. All the ones I see are $200 and up anyone know of a cheaper one than that? Thanks..
__________________
Goldie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2003, 05:08 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Coral Springs, FL
Posts: 217
Send a message via MSN to astride13
I used tap water for years with no problems. My tap water is pretty good, but the cost of clorine remover was getting more expensive than a small RO unit.
__________________
Adrian
astride13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2003, 05:35 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
I fully understand Goldie about the costs of the filter. I ran freshwater tanks for many years on tapwater with conditioner. When I converted to saltwater I used tapwater for over a year because I did not have access to RO water nor did I have the funds to buy a filter. I did not think I had to many problems with algae in the tank but one day I bit the bullet so to speak and invested into a RO filter. WIthin a month I noticed the water was clearer and the algae that I did have was reduced.

Think of the purchase of teh RO unit as more of an investment than an outright purchase.

You should be able to find a good 3 stage RO unit for less than $200. I got my unit off of a guy on ebay. AquaFX is one of this sites sponsors and they offer RO units aswell. AquaFX has a three stage 50GPD unit for just over $130 after their 10% discount.

There are members here that dont use RO units and have very nice tanks. Some buy RO water from wal-mart or other sources and others use tapwater like Adrian.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2003, 10:51 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 25
Thanks for the great replys. I guess I need to have my water tested to know how good or bad it is.

Quote:
You should be able to find a good 3 stage RO unit for less than $200. I got my unit off of a guy on ebay. AquaFX is one of this sites sponsors and they offer RO units aswell. AquaFX has a three stage 50GPD unit for just over $130 after their 10% discount.
I will check out ebay and the "AquaFX" $130.00 sounds a whole lot better than 2 or 3 hundred. Thanks Again...
__________________
Goldie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2003, 12:13 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Coral Springs, FL
Posts: 217
Send a message via MSN to astride13
I went on eBay after seeing the good deal. Here is a auction I just won.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...tem=2341437646
__________________
Adrian
astride13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2003, 12:33 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 25
Can someone explain to me the Gallons per day thing? Is there a limit on what you can use through the filtration system per day or something I dont get it. Thanks...
__________________
Goldie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2003, 01:19 PM   #9
Sam
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: West Caldwell, New Jersey
Posts: 347
Send a message via Yahoo to Sam
The GPD rating has to do with the surface area of the filter membrane that affects how much RO water can be produced over a given period of time. So basically if a unit is rated at 50 GPD, over a 24 hour period (or about 2 gallons/hour), you can expect to collect 50 gallons of RO water from the unit. This means yes, you either have to have the output plumbed to a large collection vessel (with a float switch preferrably), or you have to collect smaller amounts and transfer to a larger container for mixing.
__________________
Happiness is defined by the joy we bring to the lives of others, for without that, we ourselves cannot be.

Me
Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2003, 01:59 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: California
Posts: 512
Goldie...you can also find RO water machines outside of some stores. I get mine from a Glacier water machine for .25 cents a gallon. All ya gotta do is get a large container and fill up once or twice a month. If you can't afford a RO unit, i would suggest going this route untill you can afford it.....you might even decide you don't need one. When you think about it.....for the $200.00 it cost for a RO unit, you could get 800 gallons from that machine
__________________

__________________
two11devan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
osmosis

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reverse Osmosis (RO) itafx Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 02-22-2007 07:02 PM
Reverse Osmosis -HELP PLEASE netto Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 13 12-18-2005 12:31 AM
Reverse Osmosis Nystina Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 11-24-2004 11:04 AM
Reverse Osmosis? lex Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 01-12-2004 05:51 PM
? about reverse osmosis Smonkey15 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 01-12-2004 10:10 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.