Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-25-2015, 10:44 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
JraGold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 235
Rinsing aragonite substrate...

I'm in the process of setting up my first sw tank! Yay me! I have used crushed coral in the past for african cichlid setups and that stuff is a pain to clean. .. just wondering wondering how others rinse the aragonite and if there's anything different I need to do rather than using straight tap water?

Sent from my SM-N900W8 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
JraGold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 11:02 PM   #2
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,543
We usually say skip the crushed coral for that very reason. A simple aragonite sandbed will be fine. Some even use pool filter sand with success. But you don't disturb the sandbed in saltwater, you set it and forget it.
In terms of water, you want to use ro/di water rather than tap. Nitrates/phosphates can easily get out of control from tap. Personally, my ro/di has been down for almost 2 years and I have been using distilled water you can get at Walmart or other stores with success. Is there algae in my tank? Yes. Is it controllable? Yes.
__________________

Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 11:30 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
JraGold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 235
Oh I'm sorry! I forgot to mention that I bought the caribsea aragonite to use in the sw setup. Not using crushed coral. Use rodi water to rinse the aragonite? I have a rodi system so that's no problem just sounds kind of like a waste. Just trying to rinse the dust off it, or should I just filter out what dust doesn't settle after the fact?

Sent from my SM-N900W8 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
JraGold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 11:32 PM   #4
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,543
Just give it a mighty good rinse and things will be just fine. I used old tank water the last time I rinsed sand, if that helps.
Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 12:09 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
BLUElobster99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 736
I use the same substrate and I had to rinse it a million times. But I'd rather spend time rinsing then have to stare at a cloudy tank.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
BLUElobster99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 07:52 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I put it in a bucket (probably about 5" or so of sand) and then run tap water in the bucket as I stir with my hand, then dump the white water trying not to lose the sand, then repeat, then dump, then repeat.....a zillion times until the water is mostly clear.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 11:09 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: northern Il
Posts: 251
old clean pillow case and a garden hose, a touch of prime if paranoid.
__________________
chefbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 12:08 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
JraGold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 235
Ok great! Thanks for the advice! Will hopefully be getting to it this weekend!

Sent from my SM-N900W8 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
JraGold is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aragonite, ate, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pre-Rinsing Crushed Coral Substrate brandonv26 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 10-29-2012 09:43 PM
aragonite substrate (sand pittttttttttttt) zephyr Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 05-20-2006 10:23 AM
Is aragonite a good substrate for FW? bzbee Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 04-20-2005 07:48 PM
Sand/Aragonite substrate....is it any good? Patwa Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 04-15-2004 11:26 PM
seachem aragonite substrate GOBY Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 10-09-2002 11:06 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.