Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-29-2014, 08:04 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Putnam, IL
Posts: 38
RO/DI

Ok so I have been trying to get an answer to this question and keep getting mixed results. In my area all we have is well water and my LFS store tested it and said it would be fine to use with saltwater, but I really don't want to go that route. They sell water in their store for $1.00 a gallon ( holy crap). I do have access to RO/DI water at my work and I spoke to them and they will charge me $.01 a gallon.

They problem is every LFS I talk to said that the water would not be a good choice because it goes through a water softener first.

It goes through a softener, then the RO/DI unit, the filtered through a UV sterilizer.

Would this water be bad for my tank? I know they do regular maintenance on it and change filters often. I work at a printing company and we need to use RO/DI water for our presses so high quality water is a must. and the price is amazing.
__________________

__________________
bnr911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 08:28 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
water softeners add salt dont they? I know my old household softener required salt to work. But other than that, I am not too sure. You dont want any additives in your saltwater tank, just not sure if there is anything other than salt added to soften it.
__________________

__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 08:33 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Putnam, IL
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by carey View Post
water softeners add salt dont they? I know my old household softener required salt to work. But other than that, I am not too sure. You dont want any additives in your saltwater tank, just not sure if there is anything other than salt added to soften it.

See I 'm not sure either that is why I am questioning it. Would the Ro unit eliminate all of that making pure water? I just want to be safe. I was told that if I hooked up a RO/DI unit at my house I would be going through filter and membranes a lot since I have well water. I really don't want to pay $1.00/gallon, but idk what else to do.
__________________
bnr911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 08:47 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Caliban07's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 5,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by bnr911 View Post
Ok so I have been trying to get an answer to this question and keep getting mixed results. In my area all we have is well water and my LFS store tested it and said it would be fine to use with saltwater, but I really don't want to go that route. They sell water in their store for $1.00 a gallon ( holy crap). I do have access to RO/DI water at my work and I spoke to them and they will charge me $.01 a gallon.

They problem is every LFS I talk to said that the water would not be a good choice because it goes through a water softener first.

It goes through a softener, then the RO/DI unit, the filtered through a UV sterilizer.

Would this water be bad for my tank? I know they do regular maintenance on it and change filters often. I work at a printing company and we need to use RO/DI water for our presses so high quality water is a must. and the price is amazing.

From what I understand the softeners replace calcium and magnesium ions with sodium ions at a rate of about 3 sodium ions to one of the others. I imagine that the softener would be the first in line to protect the buildings pluming and appliances from limescale build up. Then once the softened after is in the internal system the RODI would strip it if practically everything depending on the rejection rate of the RODI unit.

Not owning saltwater fish or knowing much about salt water set ups I wouldn't know if it was preferable to have mineral-less water. Judging by what Carey has said I would imagine that that is indeed the aim? I'd say that that water would be ok to use mixed with salt.

You could buy a TDS meter to measure the dissolved solids in your companies water to make sure it is void of minerals. They are cheap enough on amazon.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Caliban07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 09:13 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
Yep, you want 100% pure water with nothing else in it as the salt mix has everything you need in it. So best to start with nothing and add exactly what you know you are adding than guessing.
The tds meter is a great idea too, that would let you know exactly what the water at work is at and if it is a single digit number it should do fine.
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 12:09 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Pschmitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Granada Hills, Ca
Posts: 250
My RODI is hooked up after my water softener. I remember reading that using soft water will prolong the membrane's life. I have dual tds checker and always get 0 tds.
__________________
Pschmitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 12:22 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Caliban07's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 5,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pschmitt View Post
My RODI is hooked up after my water softener. I remember reading that using soft water will prolong the membrane's life. I have dual tds checker and always get 0 tds.

Yeh that makes sense.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Caliban07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 12:35 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,104
If the RODI unit is working properly it shouldn't matter if there is a softener in front of it. You should end up with something pretty close to just water.

I also agree with Pschmitt that it is better for the RO/DI unit membranes life but I am not sure how much that matters in this particular case.
__________________
dalto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 12:08 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Putnam, IL
Posts: 38
So I tested the water at work and it has a 1TDS reading. So after reading through all the posts I think I am going to give it a try.

Thanks to everyone that posted. It really helped out.
__________________

__________________
bnr911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rodi

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.