Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-25-2006, 05:51 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 133
RO/DI not working

I am at my wits end trying to figure this one out. I just bought a TDS meter to see how my RO/DI unit was working, which turns out, not for crap.


Manufacturer: Dvoneb Aqua 5 stage RO/DO
Unit Age: 1 month
Membrane: ?
Flush Valve: Yes (is in correct position)
Pressure: 58psi
Tap Water TDS: 220
After RO TDS (before DI): 86
After DI TDS: 109

I also tested the TDS meter with Distilled Water which read 000

Ironically, it tests higher after my DI unit? How can that be?

EDIT: I just found the problem. I was using a carbon filter inline. As soon as I removed it, levels dropped to 0.
__________________

__________________
Serpentman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2006, 12:31 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Thibodaux, Louisiana
Posts: 174
I have a carbon filter to maybe I should check mine to.
__________________

__________________
choupic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2006, 12:42 AM   #3
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
I just found the problem. I was using a carbon filter inline. As soon as I removed it, levels dropped to 0.
Hey just curious was that carbon filter the one that goes in the clear canister like the micron filters or one that gets plumbed after the membrane supposedly to make the water taste better if you drink it?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2006, 12:49 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Thibodaux, Louisiana
Posts: 174
stage 6 in-line granular activated carbon filter to pure tasting water

thats what mine has
__________________
choupic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2006, 12:57 AM   #5
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Yeah I was debating on wheather or not to replace the parts on one I got second hand from my buddy, but come to find out the waste water port in the membrane case is broken and cannot produce waste water. Whats funny is all the ones I see in the pet stores dont have those filters to make the water taste better. I dont know. Good luck with that thing serpentman.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2006, 11:02 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 133
It was the one plumbed after the membrane. The other problem was the membrane wasn't sealing in its fixture. I found that this is a common problem with the cheap units. They use an inexpensive Chinese knockoff membrane. I used a ton of teflon tape to get it to sit properly.
__________________

__________________
Serpentman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro/di

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OK.. this is what im working with juice28 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 13 03-16-2009 07:13 PM
What am I working with here. BEANS Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 30 03-05-2009 09:49 AM
Is my skimmer working? aravindk Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 06-28-2006 03:11 AM
This isn't working Talon242 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 03-28-2004 11:26 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.