Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-01-2007, 08:20 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Winnipeg,Manitoba,CANADA
Posts: 398
Send a message via MSN to arminkropp
RO/DI PPM question

WOW! I've been away for way too long! And yes.......my tank is suffering a bit as well. Ever since I bought a house last year I've been busy with other stuff, but now back to the tank.

I bought a RO/DI unit and set it up. I'm just wondering what an acceptable PPM reading is? I'm getting 003-002ppm. The store bought water I've been buying for the last 3 years was always at 001ppm. Main reason I bought the unit was #1 its cheaper to make my own water! and #2 I don't have to depend on what day the water would get delivered and ration my water, and missing water changes.

TIA
__________________

__________________
arminkropp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 08:33 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
What test are you doing on the water to get 003-002ppm????
__________________

__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 11:11 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Winnipeg,Manitoba,CANADA
Posts: 398
Send a message via MSN to arminkropp
http://www.milwaukeetesters.com/

Model CD97

Portable Pocket Digital TDS meter. And it was calibrated a couple weeks ago.

Just a note I dont mean .002PPM I mean 2-3PPM
__________________
arminkropp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 12:49 AM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Well...there could be a few things...If you don't have enough water pressure (45+PSI) then you aren't getting the true benefit of the RO membrane. What does your water read before you filter it? How old is the fiter? Are you on well water or city water?
__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 08:09 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Winnipeg,Manitoba,CANADA
Posts: 398
Send a message via MSN to arminkropp
Water Pressure is at 65psi. The TDS is at 657ppm straight from the tap. The whole unit is 3 days old and I'm on city water
__________________
arminkropp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 10:44 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
If you are tanking TDS from 657 to 2 or 3 ppm then you are getting about the best results you can expect. My TDS out of the tap is less then 200. I'm on well water. You will probably need to replace your RO membrane more often.
__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 10:49 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Winnipeg,Manitoba,CANADA
Posts: 398
Send a message via MSN to arminkropp
Thanks for the info Ziggy. How often would you think I'll need to flush and replace the membrane? Right now I make about 10-15gal a week between the tank and out watercooler
__________________
arminkropp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 10:52 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
keep an eye on your TDS readings...when they get to a point that you don't like change the filter out...If your unit doesn't have the fulsh feature on it don't take the filter out to clean it I don' think that is good...mine is a contained system, I just turn a knob...FWIW...I have the same RO membrane that came in the unit over a year ago and I still get 0ppm TDS from it. I just got lucky to have excellent source water.
__________________

__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro/di

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nitrates under 1 ppm???? mdaniel2882 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 08-14-2009 01:06 AM
PPM? How do you figure that out? fynnie Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 12-02-2006 11:56 AM
What is the ppm iron? Lonewolfblue Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 2 10-02-2006 10:32 PM
Question: Converting mg/L to PPM sharkbait Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 01-09-2005 07:57 PM
Can't get the nitrates below 20 ppm.... c0mf0rt Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 11-21-2004 12:18 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.