Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-17-2013, 08:22 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
epaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Grand Island, NE
Posts: 183
Also do you guys' units use a pressure tank? Mine uses one it looks about like a propane bottle for your grill and once that runs dry I get nothing but a trickle out of my line
__________________

__________________
epaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 08:23 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
Id really try to measure the supply line pressure before looking into booster pumps. Www.bulkreefsupply.com sells pressure gauges for rodi units
__________________

__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 08:32 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
epaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Grand Island, NE
Posts: 183
You guys are awesome thanks for the help its been so much fun learning this hobby.
__________________
epaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 09:12 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Keithhjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,673
You can buy a water pressure test guage to go onto a hose Bibb (garden faucet) at a home improvement store for like $15. Check your water pressure before buying a booster pump. Also a pressurized tank is more for a drinking water application. Some people use their RODI unit for household drinking water. If you do just tee off after the RO part before the DI filters and then go to the pressurized tank. I have that on one of my RODI units but it's just for washing filter, pumps, etc in RO water rather than using tap.
__________________
Keithhjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 09:23 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
epaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Grand Island, NE
Posts: 183
Correct this did come out of a house and was used for drinking water. I did tee off after the RO and ran it to my fridge for drinking water. I will test my psi and let you know. Is it just what's comes out the faucet?
__________________
epaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 09:27 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
You need to know the pressure thats supplying your rodi unit, so id get as close to it as possible.
__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 09:30 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Keithhjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,673
Yes. Obviously if you have a multi story house you will have lower water pressure upstairs but generally wherever you check it (hose Bibb, laundry sink, etc) that will give your pressure. Then (depending in where you live & if you have one or not) if you have a pressure regulator at your water service inlet to your building, those can be turned up. My house had 45 psi before I raised it to 60 psi through adjusting my regulator. But I would still suspect possibly a clog as mentioned by others as after three days even at low pressure you should have that can full. Also if it is really low pressure I believe your DI resin would be depleting quicker & if you have the color changing resin you would see it.
__________________
Keithhjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 01:43 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
J.Mcpeak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Normally, In A Tank!
Posts: 1,685
To get max pressure into your RO unit it should be plumbed into main water line into house (pressurised), if it's plumbed in after the storage tank (gravity feed), pressure will be considerably lower. They are slow and even slower when it's cold.

I would put new filters in (CCB and micron) so you know the age of them, they have a useful life of about 6 months (May vary by unit). If the RO membrane needs replacing this can also seriously reduce flow. The membranes normally last around 4 years depending on care, flushing and use etc.

As posted above, quick depletion of DI resin indicates RO membrane has past useful life.
__________________

__________________
https://www.flickr.com/photos/928918...7632686866609/
FW-750L DIY, 120L, 2x110L(not my)DIY. BW-60L DIY. Sw (nearly!)(http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...se-284360.html)
^almost a DIY Fish House^ https://m.youtube.com/user/4tanks2day (L=litre)
J.Mcpeak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.