Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-27-2011, 10:46 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Fish-guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 270
Ro/di system and corals

I Am buying a RO/DI system for my tank. Im sick of dealing with algae. But could it starve the corals from nutrients usually found in the water? Would it filter the water too much?
__________________

__________________
Fish-guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 12:32 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
BallinCrew10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Auburn MA
Posts: 944
No, it removes everything you don't want in your tank that fuels the algae. A quality salt mix will give your corals everything they need. Depending on how long the tank has been running on tap water, the change won't be immediate. May take several water changes to notice the results.
__________________

__________________
BallinCrew10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 10:57 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Fish-guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 270
I found a good deal on a vertex 3 stage RO system. It is not a RO/DI system. Is it worth spending $100 on this? Should I still use prime on top off this as well?
__________________
Fish-guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 11:51 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 48
I was wondering the same thing about corals and Ro/di systems. With the tank already filled up, could i save money and simply use an RO unit for water changes?
__________________
jolopy409 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 02:43 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
BallinCrew10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Auburn MA
Posts: 944
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fish-guy
I found a good deal on a vertex 3 stage RO system. It is not a RO/DI system. Is it worth spending $100 on this? Should I still use prime on top off this as well?
I found my ro/di unit on eBay for $100. I'm sure its not top of the line but you can find one for the same price I'm sure. IMO with ro water prime would be a waste of money. Everything prime would neutralize is removed by the ro/di unit.
__________________
BallinCrew10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 06:16 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Boiler Reef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: West central IN.
Posts: 45
hey my ro di filters are getting some age on them. that being said, I have a serious green hair algae problem, that seems to have come from no where. I have changed lights and tested water and done PWC and still the GHA is everwhere...
__________________
Boiler Reef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 08:09 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mrbee2828's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 776
Send a message via AIM to mrbee2828 Send a message via Yahoo to mrbee2828
Fish-guy, if you haven't bought your system yet, I'm getting ready to buy in the next week or 2. I was waiting to find more people interested. Get on this thread RODI Bulk Buy Anyone?

If anything, we could go in on buying 2 from BRS and get 10% off I think.
__________________
mrbee2828 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 06:53 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
BallinCrew10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Auburn MA
Posts: 944
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boiler Reef
hey my ro di filters are getting some age on them. that being said, I have a serious green hair algae problem, that seems to have come from no where. I have changed lights and tested water and done PWC and still the GHA is everwhere...
My first guess without knowing any other info would be your filters are shot. I would replace the filters and see if that helps. If your filters are gone then your tds count could be much higher than the desired 0. If that's not it there could be factors with the tank itself.
__________________
BallinCrew10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 05:11 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Boiler Reef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: West central IN.
Posts: 45
thanks crew10 I am shopping for new filters now
__________________
Boiler Reef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 09:03 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sunny South Florida
Posts: 274
There is a 7 stage 100 gpd ro/di on ebay for 96.99 + 26.50 shipping. It'd an aquasafe aquarium 2 system. So for 23 bucks more you get 4 ro stages and 3 di stages. I am going to get one of these. As soon as the cash comes in. Lol.
__________________

__________________
Spotted is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
coral, corals, ro/di, stem, system

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adam's quest: FOWLR -> Reef AdamHorton Saltwater Reef Aquaria 13 04-17-2012 11:25 PM
new to corals advice bounceae86 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 12-19-2011 09:14 AM
LED Light System Wattage Help? MKFMedic Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 12 11-26-2011 12:55 AM
Corals under stock biocube lighting SwimsWithFish Nano Reefs 13 10-08-2011 11:16 PM
Corals and Lighting crister13 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 10-05-2011 06:56 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.