Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-05-2009, 01:46 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 36
RO/DI top off bad for fish?

I have a 55gallon sumpless tank, with a pair of clownfish who are the most curious little creatures I have ever seen. Anytime something is in the tank, hand, bubbles, anything they immediately swim over to it and check it out. Is it bad for them to be swimming through new ro/di water that is added to top off the tank? I try and stop when they come by, but now it takes me forever to top off my tank. I was thinking maybe I should start doing it at night when they are asleep, but am afraid it may wake them up in the end. How does everyone else do it?
__________________

__________________
r312h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 01:50 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thominil's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: In the middle of the corn....
Posts: 2,773
I just add the new water next to a powerhead current so it gets mixed in with the sw quickly.
__________________

__________________
~Thom
Any questions? Feel free to PM me.
Hitchhikers on live rock? http://www.xtalworld.com/Aquarium/hitchfaq.htm
Like someone's post? Show some appreciation with the reputation button!
thominil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 01:50 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
buddha_red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pasadena Texas 77504
Posts: 560
Send a message via ICQ to buddha_red
I just pour the ro/di water in it. the clowns like to play in the current and they dont seem to mind its ro/di. i have two powerheads aimed at each other so i have great water movement at the surface.
__________________
Shane
"Only mistakes happen fast in aquariums"
"The solution to pollution is dulution"
buddha_red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 02:37 PM   #4
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I just pour it in the main tank and it does not bother anyone. You`ll be OK.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 02:53 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by melosu58 View Post
I just pour it in the main tank and it does not bother anyone. You`ll be OK.

Wow Mike... I thought 4 sure you would have a sump...
__________________
goisles1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 02:55 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fishmonkey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,207
melosu doesnt have a sump?!?!
__________________
fishmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 03:03 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thominil's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: In the middle of the corn....
Posts: 2,773
Yes, he has a sump/fuge. If you look at his "My Tanks" section you will see that he has a 40g refugium.
__________________
~Thom
Any questions? Feel free to PM me.
Hitchhikers on live rock? http://www.xtalworld.com/Aquarium/hitchfaq.htm
Like someone's post? Show some appreciation with the reputation button!
thominil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 03:09 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fishmonkey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,207
oh. goisles said he didnt lolz
__________________
fishmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 03:14 PM   #9
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
just because someone does top off's in their main doesn't mean they don't have a sump. You know us old decrepit less knowledgeable people.... bending over hurts
__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 03:20 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainAhab View Post
just because someone does top off's in their main doesn't mean they don't have a sump. You know us old decrepit less knowledgeable people.... bending over hurts

lol.. i'm getting there man.. (old, decrepit and less knowledgeable)
__________________

__________________
goisles1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro/di

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fish at the top of the tank mattandbenny Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 9 03-15-2009 04:07 PM
What are your top three favorite fish? WaterPond Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 48 01-08-2007 09:51 AM
All my fish at top of the tank!? flip_lx Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 12 09-11-2006 11:26 AM
fish that dwell near the top Zagz Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 07-05-2005 07:59 AM
Good or Bad? Pet's Mart Top Fin 55 Gal. Starter Kit mikemou Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 15 02-19-2004 04:15 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.