Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-06-2014, 11:12 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
fishybuisness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 201
RO/DI water question

I bought my ro di system used and the filters were newer..however when I first started using it the blue line CE out clear and the red line came out milky looking..is this normal? The reason I ask is because they're both coming out clear now and I'm.wondering if its working or not

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
fishybuisness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 11:32 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
uh.oh...'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Brevard, North Carolina
Posts: 418
You just need to test it with a TDS meter. If you're at 0 its working, if you're around 10-20 its time to start looking for new filters, and if you're at 200, don't use it.
__________________

__________________
See My Tanks Here
I have found the best way to cycle your tank! Want to know how? Pee in it. Build thread: http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-141081-3.html Scientific Reading: Reefkeeping
uh.oh... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 11:41 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ingy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Comox, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,837
When the RO filter is brand new it is stored in an oil substance that comes out milky for the first little bit. After a good flush it should be clear.
__________________
Ingy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 01:14 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
fishybuisness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 201
OK cool I dont have a tds meter I'll bring it to the LFS tomorrow
.I tested for phosphates though and the good water was at 0 and the bad was high...one thing I thought was wierd which is also why I was asking is because the bad water and the rodi water both fill gallon jugs about the same time
.I thought a lot more bad water was supposed to come out

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
fishybuisness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 02:32 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ingy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Comox, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,837
If you have any kind of outflow valve on the waste water, perhaps known as a flush valve, try opening it a wee bit.
__________________
Ingy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 10:35 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
fishybuisness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 201
Hmm..no I don't think I do..there a just two hoses coming from the system..maybe o just have decent water where I live

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
fishybuisness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 10:36 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
fishybuisness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 201
That's her

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1399469817586.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	58.0 KB
ID:	236443  
__________________
fishybuisness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 08:58 PM   #8
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,539
That is a coralife unit. I had one when I started up. Decent starter unit.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 11:57 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
fishybuisness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 201
Nice! I bought it for 30 with brand new filters and added a di stage...but all my water tested good thanks guya

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
fishybuisness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 12:31 PM   #10
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
That`s just an RO unit right?
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, question, rodi, water

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using distilled water instead of tap water for water changes. Camogirl28 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 01-04-2014 09:33 AM
Tap water via water softner and RO water mix to raise kh Philly33 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 1 11-20-2013 01:55 PM
anyone use water from water softener in fresh water? Ram897 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 06-24-2012 09:00 PM
QT water, should I use fresh slat water or old tank water? MadManMac Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 12-27-2004 09:13 PM
Water, Water, & More Water talenzmeier Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 07-20-2003 08:33 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.